SGIS S150 Seminar

Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels.  Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.  

Focus is on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, Indigenous Peoples, LGBT, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports constitutes an archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news.

FBIS Daily Reports is comprised of the reports from Middle East and [North] Africa (MEA), 1974-1987; Near East and South Asia (NES), 1987-1996; South Asia (SAS), 1980-1987; Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), 1974-1980 and (AFR), 1987-1996; China (CHI), 1974-1996; Asia and the Pacific (APA), 1974-1987; East Asia (EAS), 1987-1996; Latin America (LAT and LAM), 1974-1996; Eastern Europe (EEU), 1974-1996; Soviet Union/Central Eurasia (SOV), 1974-1996; Western Europe (WEU), 1974-1996.

The IUB Libraries' Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (East Tower 2, or ET2), located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library at 10th and Jordan, received these reports as part of the Federal Depository Library Program on microfiche. Feel free to contact ET2 staff regarding reports not yet available on this full text database, for earlier and later reports, and about related federal documents (including Congressional and Department of State documents).

Keesing’s World News Archive contains articles detailing world events and international developments. The archive begins in 1931 as Keesing’s Contemporary Archives (1931-1987) and continues as Keesing’s Record of World Events from 1987 to the present. Events covered include government changes, war, treaties, appointments, diplomatic initiatives, international agreements, security, legislation, budgets, natural disasters, environmental issues, and scientific discoveries.

Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) including the Bloomington Herald Times, and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Includes cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for articles in the following major newspapers beginning in January 1, 1995:

• NEW YORK TIMES
• WALL STREET JOURNAL (Eastern and Western editions)
• CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR
• USA TODAY
• WASHINGTON POST

Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather.

Account use and renewal:

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting the New York Times News App site. Please note e-reader apps are excluded from our Academic Group Pass.

New IUB Affiliated Users

To activate your NYTimes.com IUB Group Pass: 

1. Go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT
2. Create a NYTimes.com account using your iu.edu email address. 
   1. If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address, you may log in with those credentials)
3. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear
4. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location
    

Returning IUB Affiliated Users

Once you have activated your IUB Group Pass account, it should allow you full access until your expiration date with no further action on your part. However, if for any reason while on NYTimes.com you are served the message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, please do the following: Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your Group Pass. If you log out of your account or visit NYTimes.com on a device where you are not logged in, you can simply log in to your account to continue enjoying access.

If your Group Pass has expired, visit http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT to activate a new pass. Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your IUB Group Pass.

Unaffiliated users

Users who are not affiliated with IU Bloomington may access a limited number of free articles (including blog posts, slide shows and other multimedia features) each month on NYTimes.com by setting up a free account on the New York Times website.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup your New York Times account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. From a web browser, visit your New York Times account page by logging in with your existing NYT account.
2. Under Account Information, choose the Update link for you email address
3. Enter your iu.edu email address and your existing NYT password and press the Save button. 

Additional access options:

• Access to the New York Times from 2008 to the present (with a lag time of about three months)
  • Digitized microfilm of the NYT with a 3-month embargo. Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.
• Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

The world's most available, extensive and complete archive of major network television news. The database currently includes 725,000 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening news and special news program. These broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaigns, national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. All broadcasts are copyright protected for class and research use. The database will list results of individual story-level records. From each of these records you can press the button to display the listing of the entire program. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present, as indicated by the Video clip available. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape. The news archive charges a fee to recover the cost of providing this service.

WNC contains materials provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted. For earlier and additional information, consult ET2 (East Tower 2) staff. Back issues of the FBIS Daily Reports are on Microfiche, in the ET2: Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (IUB Herman B Wells Library 2nd Floor). Email: libgpd@indiana.edu. IUB has subscribed to the full text product from Readex. Content will be added through 2009 and covers 1974-1995.

World Newspaper Archive is a fully-searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.