Before beginning more in-depth research, it's often helpful to get an overview of your topic through background research. This can help you develop a more effective research question and brainstorm better search terms.
- Your instructor understands your assignment and can provide advice about the topic and how to frame it.
- Ask a Librarian! We're available in person, via virtual chat, email, and phone. You can the chat box on the left-side of this page or any page in this library guide
- Subject Encyclopedias and other reference resources can help you develop your topic and identify key search terms. They contain short topic overviews and scholarly references. You can find these on the Country Studies Research Page of this guide.
- If there are journals related to the general area you are studying, look through recent tables of contents for ideas and background information on possible topics. You can browse eJournals by subject or search specific databases.
- Get more ideas for reference books for background research by checking out Course Guides.
Here are a few useful databases for exploring potential topics:
CQ Researcher - Reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Controversial contemporary topic summaries and overviews of current issues.
Oxford Reference Online - Full-text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Full-text encyclopedias and reference books in all disciplines.