Citation generators allow you to enter your source's bibliographic information (such as title and author for a journal article, web page, or book) in order to produce a citation in your selected format.
Here is a selected list of citation generators:
BibCitation.com
- Generate citations and bibliographic references for a wide variety of media types
- Generate citations and bibliographic references compliant with a wide variety of citation styles.
- Look up your reference by author, doi, URL, title, or ISBN.
- Create a free account and save your references for future use.
BibME
- Generate citations and bibliographic references for MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago styles.
- Look up your reference by URL, title, or ISBN.
- Create a free account and save your references for future use.
Citation Machine
- Create citations and bibliographic references for MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago styles.
ZoteroBib
- Look up your reference by Title, URL, ISBN, DOI, OMID, or arXiv ID.
- Provides citations in MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago style.
- Create a link to your bibliography for future use.
EasyBib
- Create citations and bibliographic references for MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago styles.
- Look up sources by URL, title, and ISBN.
KniteCite
- Create citations and bibliographic references for MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago styles.
- Create citations for multiple source formats (e.g. multimedia, radio program, film).
Library Databases
Some library databases have built-in citation generators that allow you to click on a "Cite" button to get a citation for that article or book.
Check the citations generated through these tools, as they can make errors. The library has citation style guides.