IUScholarWorks User Guide

Be certain at this stage that you...
- Have permission to deposit the item.
- Have formatted the item for long-term accessibility.

To deposit an item, you will need to complete each of the following steps:

1. Choose a collection.
2. Select Add Item on DSpace.
3. Complete the descriptive fields.
4. Complete the IUSW License Agreement.
5. Save or Submit.

Optional: Set an Embargo

This guide uses a few icons to call attention to needs particular to specific types of deposits.

•   Data
•   Journal articles
•   Multimedia
• Presentations

Depositing an item into a specific IUScholarWorks collection is easiest when you begin from the collection's page. The majority of items will be deposited into a collection managed by the academic department of the author.

If you know the collection where you wish to deposit your item, find that now.

If you will be depositing multiple related works that may warrant their own collection, please pause this deposit process and complete the New Collection Request Form to begin that conversation with the Scholarly Communications department.

Use these metadata fields to provide information about your item. Most fields can be left blank. 

Required fields are marked with an asterisk (*) on the item editor.

Author

The person(s), organization(s) or service(s) responsible for creating the item. Use the "Add More” button to add secondary authors.

• For people, the name should be entered [Family name], [Given name].
• For organizations, use the full name of the organization as it appears on the document without abbreviations.

Examples:

• McRobbie, Michael A.
• National Survey of Student Engagement

Title

Enter the title of the work as published. Title case and sentence case are both acceptable, so you may follow the capitalization on the work (if it has been published elsewhere) or follow the conventions of your field.

• Avoid using filenames (thesis_draft01.pdf)

Example:

• China Research Dataset: Drinking Patterns, Attitudes towards Alcohol, and Health Concerns
• Envisioning leadership: Principles of feminist management in practice

Other Titles

Use this field if the work is known under another title, such as a title in foreign language or an abbreviation.

• Enter only one alternate title per field. Use the “Add More” button to add more titles.

Date

Enter the date of initial publication. If not previously published, enter today's date. Only the year is required.

Examples

• 2020-03-23
• 1986

Publisher

The press, journal, institution, or other entity responsible for the creation/initial publication of the item. In the case of an IU thesis or dissertation, the publisher should be “[Bloomington, Ind.] : Indiana University.”

If more than one publisher is involved, enter one now then please email IUSW staff after you've made the deposit. They will be able to help you add the others.

Other Location

Enter the URL (link) for another copy or another version is available on the Internet. 

   Use the "Other Location" to link to video, data, or other media that is stored outside the repository.

 Use "Other Location" to link directly to a journal’s website when the publisher requires a link.

Citation

Add a citation in this field to indicate that an item was previously published. You may use the standard format of your field (APA, MLA, etc.)

Series No. + Report No.

If your item is part of a series, you may enter that information in these fields.

  Use the series and report fields to enter the journal volume and issue in which your article appeared, even if you have provided these in the citation field.

Identifiers

If your item has an identification number assigned to it from one of the options, enter that number here. DOIs should be entered as URLs. 

Examples:

• (ISBN) 9783161484100
• (DOI) https://doi.org/10.14434/josotl.v15i1.12905

Type

Select the best fitting type from the drop-down menu. You may use the “Add More” button if two or more types fit (Video + Presentation, Doctoral Dissertation + Musical Score).

If none of the types fit your item, select “Other." You should then use the Description field to describe your item in more detail such that any repository user will know what it is, how to open or use it, and whether it was previously published or otherwise made available in another form.

Some common Type assignments include...

• Use “Article” for scholarly works in their published or accepted form, “Preprint” for drafts undergoing review, and “Working Paper” for earlier drafts and notes. When uncertain, follow the terminology of your discipline.
• For lab and research protocols, select “Technical Report.”
• For executive summaries or policy briefs, select "Report."
• For student research papers or essays, select "Report."
• For bibliographies, grant applications,correspondence, poetry or fiction, select “Other.”

  Select the "Video", "Recording (Oral)", or "Recording (Musical)" if your deposit represents the metadata, slides, or transcript of a presentation video or other multimedia that you linked in the Other Location field, even if the video or recording will not be deposited in IUScholarWorks.

   Select the "Data" type if your deposit represents the paper or metadata associated with data deposit in another repository and which you have linked in the Other Location field, even if that data will not be deposited in IUScholarWorks.

Language

Select the primary language of the item from the drop-down menu.  

• If the content does not have a primary language (for example, it is a dataset or image), please select ‘N/A.’
• If you are adding an item with multiple languages OR multiple items in a language that cannot be selected from the drop-down, please email Scholarly Communications.

Subject Keywords

Enter multiple keywords, tags, or search terms to describe the content of your item. Hit the Enter key, or type a comma, after each entry to add another.

Tips

• We recommend 3-6 keywords.
• Do include information such as the materials, instruments, or techniques used; the methods or theories employed; or persons, places, and objects under investigation.
• Avoid abbreviations that might have multiple meanings.
• You can see a list of previously used subjects here.

Rights

IUScholarWorks strongly recommends using a Creative Commons license to specify both your rights and what a reader is allowed to do with a download of your deposit. For more information please see the Libraries' Libguide on Open Access & Creative Commons Licenses.

The Rights section's drop-down menu provides the following options:

• Help me choose a license: This option will ask you to decide a few rights options and then generate the appropriate Creative Commons license.
• I know my CC license: This option will open a second drop-down with Creative Commons licenses to select from.
• All Rights Reserved: Use this to apply a closed license and retain your existing copyright. This will open a confirmation box.
• Public Domain: To waive all rights to your deposit. This will apply the CC0 public domain dedication.
• Other: If you wish to apply a specific license, the Rights field should be used to enter the license text for display on the deposit record. The Rights URI field is for a link to a complete rights statement. For previously published work, this option may also be used to enter any copyright or license language required by the publisher.

Abstract

Enter a summary of the content of your item as it might appear in an article header or in a search index.

Tips

• Do not include links, citation information (author, publisher), or file format.

Sponsors

Enter sponsoring institutions or grant funders.

Examples:

• National Science Foundation
• U.S. Department of Education

Description

Use this free text field to freely enter any other information or context about the item.  

• Include information not covered by other fields (additional languages, author roles) and additional context (author biography, the name, year and location of the conference where it was presented).
• For data, animation, software, and other digital works, this may include the software used in the creation, the programming language or framework, or system requirements for using the item.
• Do not include HTML tags or Markdown formatting.

Upload Files

If you uploaded a file at the beginning of these directions, you should see it listed under above the licese. Otherwise, you may drag and drop the files here to attach them.

IUScholarWorks does allow embargo periods for deposits, during which the work's record will be publicly visible but users will not be able to view or download the attached files. When the embargo period expires, IUScholarWorks will automatically make the complete work accessible.

To set an embargo during the submission process, follow these steps.

1	If you uploaded a file in the first step, you will see this file below the "Upload files" subheading. To the right of that file, there is an edit icon. Click on this to access the "edit bitstream" menu.
2	Now that you see the "Edit Bitstream" menu, scroll down to the dropdown selector named "access condition type."   From this dropdown, you will select "Embargo."
3	With the "Access Condition Type" set to "Embargo" you can now use the date selector labeled "Grant access from" to set the date at which you would like your file to become publicly available. You may enter the date in YYY-MM-DD format or use the graphical calendar tool to select a date. You should leave the "Grant access until" field empty.

Once your files have uploaded and you’ve completed all the descriptive fields, it’s time to review the IUScholarWorks license and confirm.

You can read a copy of the IUScholarWorks Repository License here.

Proxy Submissions: If you are depositing a work on behalf of the author, you will need to have them complete the Proxy Submission form. You should keep a copy of the completed form/email for your records.

Once you’ve confirmed the license, you have the option to “Save for Later” or “Deposit.” An item that is saved for later can be edited at any time, but it will not be visible to other IUScholarWorks users.

Now's the time! Be certain to review your record for errors before depositing! As a permanent repository, IUScholarWorks is reluctant to delete items, though we will gladly fix errors, broken links, and other metadata issues as they arise.

After Deposit

Congrats! 

• Within 24 hours, the repository will generate a thumbnail image if the file format allows.
• In time your work will be indexed by search engines.
• Remember to always use the stable URL (the handle.net one). IU Libraries guarantees this link will not change through DSpace updates.

Once your deposit is live, here are a few of the steps you may wish to take:

• Add the permanent URL to the work.
• Review the deposit's statistics.
• Revise the deposit.