Library Research Guides: IUScholarWorks User Guide: People and Groups

Groups and Roles

Permissions for adding and editing items on IUScholarWorks are set through DSpace roles, which are assigned via groups. The requested roles and permissions for your collection should have been established by IUSW staff during the collection creation process.

Groups are used to align a user's role across multiple related collections. This allows IUScholarWorks administrators to make changes in one place, which are then applied consistently across the relevant subcollections.

If you are a collection administrator and need to make changes to group membership or wish to inquire about current group lists and permissions, please email IUSW with the details of your request.

Groups are created to align with specific roles with distinct permissions for the specific community or collection. This affects which pre-deposit items they can see and which actions they can take.

Submitter: These users have permission to create new items, but once deposited, the item must pass through an editor before it becomes publicly available. A submitter can only interact with their own submissions.
Editor: These users can see the works of submitters, make changes to the submissions, and are responsible for either approving or rejecting an item. After an editor approves a deposit, it becomes publicly available. When more than one editor is assigned to a collection, submissions will enter a shared pool until they are claimed by an editor.

IUSW Admins: Adding groups to a collection

This section is for IUScholarWorks administrators, primarily regional campus administrators. Collection administrators working with a school, department, or journal should always email IUSW if they need to modify groups or permissions.

As an administrator of IUSW for a campus, you may be asked to assign groups to specific roles within a collection. The following directions will walk you through those steps. If you find you don't have the permissions to do so, please email IUSW.

1	Navigate to the page for the collection you wish to modify. At the top right of the collection page, select the "Edit" button.
2	From the "Edit Collection" page, select the "Assign Roles" tab from the top menu.
3	Find the role you wish to modify. DSpace should provide a link to the auto-generated group assigned to that role. The standard collection roles are Submitters and Editors.
4	This will take you to the "Edit Group" page for this specific role. Scroll down to the "Groups" subheading. Here you will see a list of subgroups already assigned to this role, if any exist. Note: Although DSpace will allow you to add individuals to this collection roles, this makes re-assigning permissions difficult as changes like this will need to be done for each individual rather than the groups they are members of.
5	To add a subgroup to this role, scroll down further. You may search for the subgroup by name or click through the available options. To add the group, click the "+" icon beside the group name. Tip: The group you're looking for is hopefully named after the department, school, journal, or other project that administers this collection. If you can't find them, please email IUSW and we'll help you find the correct group or create one for you, if needed.