Indiana Historic Maps provides images of a small portion of maps that focus on Indiana. The majority of this collection focuses on maps produced prior to 1923 unless known to be in the public domain as state or federal documents. In addition, Indiana University Bloomington holds an outstanding collection of print maps by and about geographic areas covering the state of Indiana.
IU's collection of scanned Sanborn maps in the public domain (pre-1923). Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps were made for the interests of fire insurance companies, but because they are detailed, building-by-building depictions of most urban areas, they are useful for many kinds of research.
The bulk of Indiana University’s Russian Military Topographic Map Collection is made up of the Soviet Red Army topographic maps, which were produced for defense and economic planning. This collection came to Indiana University from the duplicate map room of the Library of Congress Map Collection in the early 1990s. These maps cover not only parts of Russia and Eastern Europe, but extend as far north as Scandinavia, as far west as Germany and the Netherlands, and as far south as Iran.
While the maps themselves are not yet digitized, you can use this tool to find sheet maps in the African continent and explore availability of our topographic map sets. This project is ongoing and does not contain all of our topographic maps of Africa (yet!)
Access to Sanborn maps for all fifty states, large-scale plans containing data that can help estimate the potential risk for urban structures.
While they are in Black and White, instead of the original color, the Digital Sanborn Maps allow researchers to view and download the maps, integrate them in various GIS applications, and access them remotely. Sanborn maps provide house by house or business by business details for cities and towns throughout Indiana. They show the development of water works, school and government buildings, and transportation systems.
Access to high-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information.
Subscription includes base level full resolution downloads for all 50 states, plus DC.
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
Allows users to:
-Access thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
-Develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
-Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
-Explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time and use estimates and projections to analyze current and future trends.
-Make informed personal and business-related decisions by asking questions like “what are the social and demographic characteristics of my neighborhood?” and “where should I locate my retail store?”
Access to data maps, profile reports, demographic data, and data elements and variables. Includes interactive tools that allow users to create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyze data. Includes access to current and historical demographic data.
The Newsmaps were received as depository items in the 1940's and are available upon request. Because of their fragile nature today, they are housed in our secure area. Please contact GIMMS before your visit so we can have them available.
Newsmaps were published by the Special Service Division, Army Service Forces, War Department. The issues were prepared and distributed by the Army Orientation Course. One standard feature that appears on all maps is a short textual summary of key events titled "The War Fronts," that includes descriptions of war-related events, mostly by geographic area, such as China, Russia, Tunisia, South Pacific, Aleutians, Wake, etc. Quite often supplementary map inserts show the principal theatres of conflict, e.g. a portion of the Eastern Front or the Solomon Islands. There are also many photographs. Some of them depict Axis soldiers and weapons.
Another standard feature is a world map that shows the areas controlled by Axis and United Nations forces, as well as neutral countries. Until Nov. 1942, when Axis troops occupied Vichy- France, the area controlled by the Vichy government (including all colonial possessions) was depicted separately (in a different color). Most Newsmaps include other types of information on the back page. Early issues often highlighted enemy weapons or insignia. Later, large detailed maps of one of the principal theaters of conflict became more common. The earlier Newsmaps always included a front page photo essay that highlighted a theme, a feature that disappeared in late 1942. Later all the space on the front page was devoted to The War Fronts feature.
Beginning with the Iwo Jima issue (Feb. 1945) additional changes took place. In subsequent editions of Newsmaps text was usually cut down to a minimum even on the front page. Much of this space was used for more attractive lay-out features. As a consequence all subsequent issues of Newsmaps look more like posters. In the fall of 1945 demobilization and repatriation emerged as the major issues of concern. Some issues of Newsmaps are entirely devoted to this theme. There is also information about life insurance, college, employment, and making the transition to civilian life. Other issues analyze the new world order that emerged in the aftermath of World War II. They focus on war crimes trials, U.S. occupation policies in Germany and Japan, U.S. foreign policy commitments, the future role of the United Nations, conferences of Allied leaders. There are also for the first time features that are primarily celebratory and emphasize the achievements of the Marine Corps, Army combat divisions, U.S. military leaders, etc.
The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 30 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.