- Edward E. Ayer Digital CollectionThe Edward E. Ayer Digital Collection features several thousand digitized images and texts selected from the Newberry Library’s Ayer Collection, one of the strongest on American Indians in the world.
- First Nations CollectionThe First Nations Collection of the Southern Oregon Digital Archives consists of documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of this bioregion. We have begun to collect and mount materials about many tribes in southwestern Oregon and northern California. Some of these nations include the Coos, Hupa, Karuk, Klamath, Modoc, Takelma, Shasta, Siuslaw, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua, Yahooskin, and Yurok nations. In the future, we hope to expand the collection by continuing to add materials on these and other tribes whose homelands were in, or adjacent to, the Siskiyou-Cascade-Klamath bioregion.
- Huntington Free Library Native American CollectionHosted by Cornell University
- Native American Studies Collection (UC-Berkeley)The purpose of these guides on using Native American Information Resources is to help students and professionals find the useful, meaningful, important, and most objective sources available in the field. Materials addressing Native issues are selected for their honorable representation of the Native American point of view or for their utility, but important resources addressing historical aspects of Native America are often written or edited by U.S. government-sponsored agencies or non-Indians. Therefore, evaluating Native American sources requires special considerations.
- Heard Museum Digital LibraryThe Digital Library represents a virtual selection from the Heard Museum archives and art collection. The Heard Museum has an extensive collection of art, documentary and photographic works on American Indians with an emphasis on Indigenous people in the Greater Southwest.
- National Archives Library Information CenterPage containing links to American history relating to Native Americans
Encyclopedia of Native American History by ISBN: 9780816072507Publication Date: 2011-07-01European explorers reached North America more than 400 years ago, and since that time Native Americans have had to struggle to survive. Yet, despite injustices both past and present, the Native American community has persevered over the centuries. The three-volume Encyclopedia of Native American History offers a comprehensive and authoritative look at the most important individuals, events, and topics in American Indian history. Researchers and students alike will benefit from the in-depth coverage of tribes, notable leaders and events, customs, dress, dwellings, weapons, government, religion, and more. Covering the period from the first human settlements in the Americas to the present day, this set features black-and-white photographs, an insert of full-color maps, an appendix, and cross-references. Written for high school and college students as well as the general public, this resource will be invaluable to anyone interested in learning about this fascinating topic. Coverage includes: Adena American Indian Movement Art Beaver Wars Black Hawk Buffalo Cahokia Cherokee Code talkers Crazy Horse Disease Foodways Geronimo Hopi Kiowa Longest Walk Maize Medicine Mohawk Music Navajo Pequot War Powwow Removal Act Sacagawea Sioux Jim Thorpe Trail of Tears Wounded Knee.
A Companion to American Indian History by ISBN: 1405121319Publication Date: 2004-03-12A Companion to American Indian History captures the thematic breadth of Native American history over the last forty years.Twenty-five original essays by leading scholars in the field, both American Indian and non-American Indian, bring an exciting modern perspective to Native American histories that were at one time-related exclusively by Euro-American settlers. Contains 25 original essays by leading experts in Native American history. Covers the breadth of American Indian history, including contacts with settlers, religion, family, economy, law, education,gender issues, and culture. Surveys and evaluates the best scholarship on every important era and topic. Summarizes current debates and anticipates future concerns.
American Indian History Day by Day by ISBN: 9780313382222Publication Date: 2012-10-02This unique, day-by-day compilation of important events helps students understand and appreciate five centuries of Native American history. * A chronology provides an at-a-glance overview of 500 years of Native American history * A bibliography that guides students and other researchers to print and online resources for further information
New Perspectives on Native North America by ISBN: 9780803278301Publication Date: 2006-05-01In this volume some of the leading scholars working in Native North America explore contemporary perspectives on Native culture, history, and representation. Written in honor of the anthropologist Raymond D. Fogelson, the volume charts the currents of contemporary scholarship while offering an invigorating challenge to researchers in the field. The essays employ a variety of theoretical and methodological approaches and range widely across time and space. The introduction and first section consider the origins and legacies of various strands of interpretation, while the second part examines the relationship among culture, power, and creativity. The third part focuses on the cultural construction and experience of history, and the volume closes with essays on identity, difference, and appropriation in several historical and cultural contexts. Aimed at a broad interdisciplinary audience, the volume offers an excellent overview of contemporary perspectives on Native peoples.
Indians in the United States and Canada by ISBN: 9781496204837Publication Date: 2018-09-01Drawing on a vast array of primary and secondary sources, Roger L. Nichols traces the changing relationships between Native peoples and whites in the United States and Canada from colonial times to the present. Dividing this history into five stages, beginning with Native supremacy over European settlers and concluding with Native peoples' political, economic, and cultural resurgence, Nichols carefully compares and contrasts the effects of each stage on Native populations in the United States and Canada. This second edition includes new chapters on major transformations from 1945 to the present, focusing on social issues such as transracial adoption of Native children, the uses of national and international media to gain public awareness, and demands for increasing respect for tribal religious practices, burial sites, and historic and funerary remains.
Native Americans Today by ISBN: 9780313355554Publication Date: 2010-06-22This engaging collection of Native American profiles examines these individuals' unique life experiences within the larger context of U.S. history. * 100 biographical entries arranged in an A-Z, encyclopedic format * 50 photographs and illustrations include original artwork
Focusing on American Indians
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. Includes more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia.
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Covers interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada. Includes 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America
Covers the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. The archive includes monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals and photographs. Includes access to Part I and Part II: The Indian Rights Association, 1882-1986.
- Territorial Papers of the United States (will only work on campus through November 22)Primary source documents from the 1760s to the 1950s, documenting the southward and westward expansion of the US, as the nation acquired territories that spanned from Florida to California to Alaska. Includes official correspondence with Washington, Native American negotiations and treaties, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.
Reference
- Oxford Reference
Reference resources from the Oxford University Press. Includes English dictionaries and thesauruses, English language reference books, bilingual dictionaries, quotations, maps and illustrations, timelines and subject reference sources.
General
- JSTOR
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
- America: History & Life
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
- Project Muse
Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals and e-books from a variety of scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.