Native American History Wikipedia Edit-a-thon

Stub Articles on American Indians

[Stubs are entries with very little information, where adding a small amount of information could have a large impact]

• Indigenous Peoples of North America stubs
• Indigenous Languages of North America stubs
• Indigenous Peoples of North America biography stubs

Add a Citation

Any Wikipedian can add a {{Citation needed}} tag to question a claim. Currently, over 370,000 articles have such a tag. Citation Hunt lets you search for articles that need citations.

Specific Articles to Edit

• Mary Brave Bird (Sicangu Lakota) (1954-2013) - Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary, 50
• Entries relating to Native American tribal police (e.g. Indian tribal police, Indian agency police, or BIA Police [lacks history section]) - American Indians at Risk, 113-34)
• Stewart Indian School - The Native American Identity in Sports, 41-55 [unlike the extensive Carlisle Indian School record, the Stewart Indian School record has no reference to sports]
• William Armstrong - Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal, 16-19 [role in removal only mentioned in passing]
• Second Treaty of Buffalo Creek (1838) - Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal, 241-43
  • Also no entry for Maris Bryant Pierce (1811-1874) or reference to him in the above entry - Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal, 173-74
• Aysh-ke-bah-ke-ko-zhay (Eshkibagikoonzhe, Flat Mouth) (Ojibwa) - An Infinity of Nations, 3-21; Groundless, 236-37; History of the Ojibway People, 358-69 (pages based on earlier edition)
• First Treaty of Prairie du Chien (1825) - An Infinity of Nations, 346-50
• Indian Relocation Act of 1956 - Indians on the Move, 63, 73; Urban Indian Experience in America, 10 [Miller and Fixico connect Indian Relocation with the War Relocation Authority, the agency responsible for the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II, which is not noted in Wikipedia]
• American Indian Center​ - Community Self-Determination, ch. 2
• Miami People, 2.3: United States and Tribal Divide [section title could be improved] - Contested Territories, 137-59

Articles to Create 

• Roberta Blackgoat (Diné) (1916-2002) - fought forced relocation
  • Gretchen M. Batille and Laurie Lisa, eds., Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary, 38
  • B.J. Bergman, "Wrong Side of the Fence," Mother Jones (2000)
  • Malcolm D. Benally, ed., Bitter Water: Diné Oral Histories of the Navajo-Hopi Land Dispute​, 25-38 [link will only work when using IU wifi or an IU desktop]
  • Obituary from the Arizona Daily Sun
  • Image (New Mexico Digital Collections)
• Walter Echo-Hawk (Pawnee) - attorney and public speaker
  • John R. Wunder, "Walter Echo-Hawk," The New Warriors: Native American Leaders since 1900, 299-321 [link will only work when using IU wifi or an IU desktop]
  • Robert R. McCoy and Steven M. Fountain, History of American Indians: Exploring Diverse Roots, 217-18
  • Personal website
• Viven Hailstone (Yurok, Karuk, and Hupa) (1915-2000) - basket weaver and activist
  • Gretchen M. Batille and Laurie Lisa, eds., Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary, 120-21
  • Ron Johnson, "The Albert and Vivien Hailstone Collection"
  • Malcolm Margolin, ed. The Way We Lived: California Indian Reminiscences, Stories, and Songs (1981), 193-94 - Folklore Collection, E78 .C15 W39
  • Betty Lease, "Vivien Hailstone: Proud of Indian Ancestry," Redding Reocrd Searchlight (1991)
• Peter J. Powell or St. Augustine's Center for American Indians - provided support for Chicago's Native American population between 1961 and 2006 (Powell founded it)
  • Douglas K. Miller, Indians on the Move: Native American Mobility and Urbanization in the Twentieth Century, ch. 5
  • Manuscript collection description
  • John J. Laukaitis, Community Self-Determination: American Indian Education in Chicago, 1952-2006 (2015), ch. 3