Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. 10th Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@iu.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Education in Guatemala
- World Inequality Database on EducationSearch by Country
- CIA World FactbookImportant stats:
Literacy Rate
School Life Expectancy
Youth Unemployment
- ERIC (EBSCO)This is an education-focused database, so simply searching Guatemala will bring back articles on education in Guatemala, but you may want to add additional search terms to find information on specific aspects of education in Guatemala. Add COVID to your search to find articles about the impact of the pandemic.
- Education Full TextTry search Guatemala and education to find articles on many aspects of education in Guatemala.
- Education Research Complete
Covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Includes full text for books, monographs and education-related conference papers.
Gender Inequality
- World Economic Forum Report on Global Gender GapData and analysis on the state of gender economic inequality .
- World Bank: Gender Data PortalThe Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.
- International Labour Organization: Data Portal on Statistics for WomenA resource provided by the United Nations, ILOSTAT contains a wide range of indicators disaggregated by sex, as well as breakdowns relevant to gender issues and indicators on gender gaps.
- Organization for Economic Cooperation and DevelopmentInternational in scope, this resource provides reports and data related to gender and the economy.
- McKinsey & Company Report on Economic Impact of Diversity & InclusionInfographics, analysis and data related to how diversity and inclusion, including gender, impacts the economy.
- GenderWatchFull text database with a focus on how gender impacts a variety of subject areas. Use search phrases such as:
"Women owned businesses" OR "Womens employment" OR "unpaid care"
Business and Culture in Guatemala
- GlobeSmartSee report on Guatemala for in-depth information and advice about business, culture, and travel-related topics.
- MarketLine AdvantageChoose Country Profiles from the dropdown next to the search box and then enter Guatemala in the search box to find a PEST report about the political, economic, social, and technological structure of the country.
- Hofstede InsightsThis Hofstede Consulting widget that allows the user to quickly compare cultural attributes affecting business among various countries. Type “Guatemala” and “United States” to see how they compare
- World BankEconomic snapshot of Guatemala provided by the World Bank.
- Nexis UniIncludes articles from hundreds of international media outlets. In the Advanced Search, select "News" Then enter terms such as Guatemala AND "business culture".
Global Giving
Philanthropy/Charitable Giving
- Research from IU School of PhilanthropyAccess a number of reports about philanthropic trends and the behaviors and attitudes of specific groups of people and about specific philanthropic causes.
- Mintel Reports
Please note: Mintel allows access for IUB faculty, staff, and students only. Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries.
The databases below let you search for articles in a wide variety of publications. The language you use to search these matters see the Effective Searching tab for more advice, but you can start with searches like:
philanthrop* and (attitudes or behavior or trend)
philanthrop* and (strateg* or "best practices")
(donat* or charit*) and (motivation or intention)
(donat* or charit*) and (crowdfunding or "crowd funding")
- Education Full Text
Research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
- Business Source Complete
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- EBSCO Management Collection
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Tool for business students and researchers, providing insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. Contains full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, case studies and company profiles.