Books
Breaking Ground by
"Would you still call me a diva if I were a man?" asked Zaha Hadid, challenging as she did so, more than 100 years of stereotypes about female architects. A century in which women were refused entry to architecture schools, were denied degrees when they had completed courses, a century in which even now, women occupy just ten per cent of the highest-ranking jobs in architecture firms. In contrast, Breaking Ground is a pioneering, even essential, celebration of incredible architecture designed by women. Featuring more than 150 architects and buildings, and spanning the last 100 years, Breaking Ground is both a glorious visual manifesto and a timely record of the extraordinary contribution female architects have made to the profession.
Call Number: NA1997 .H35 2019ISBN: 9780714879277Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Designing Women by Call Number: NA1997 .A32 2000ISBN: 9780802044174Publication Date: 2000-05-18Also available as an e-book.
Feminist Practices by Call Number: NA2543.F45 F46 2011ISBN: 9781409421177Publication Date: 2011-12-28
From the Ground Up by
For decades, American cities have experimented with ways to remake themselves in response to climate change.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781610918978Publication Date: 2022
A Gendered Profession by Call Number: NA1997 .G46 2016ISBN: 9781859469972Publication Date: 2017-01-12
New Chinese Architecture by Call Number: NA1548 .W55 2019ISBN: 9780500343388Publication Date: 2019-05-21
Where Are the Women Architects? by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781400880294Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Women Design by
From architects and product designers to textile artists and digital innovators, Women Design profiles a selection of dynamic female designers from the modern era, showcasing their finest work and celebrating their enduring influence.
Call Number: N8354 .S45 2021ISBN: 9780711267404Publication Date: 2021-12-07
Women in Architecture by
The voices of thirty-six internationally active women architects are heard through their own projects. This diverse panorama is supplemented by essays on pioneering female architects, and analyses that get to the bottom of the structural discrimination against women architects. With Mona Bayr, Odile Decq, Elke Delugan-Meissl, Julie Eizenberg, Manuelle Gautrand, Annette Gigon, Silvia Gmür, Cristina Guedes, Melkan Gürsel, Itsuko Hasegawa, Anna Heringer, Fabienne Hoelzel, Helle Juul, Karla Kowalski, Anupama Kundoo, Anne Lacaton, Regine Leibinger, Dorte Mandrup, Rozana Montiel, Kathrin Moore, Farshid Moussavi, Carme Pinós, Nili Portugali, Paula Santos, Kazuyo Sejima, Annabelle Selldorf, Pavitra Sriprakash, Siv Helene Stangeland, Brigitte Sunder-Plassmann, Lene Tranberg, Billie Tsien, Elisa Valero, Natalie de Vries, Andrea Wandel, Helena Weber, and Lu Wenyu.
Call Number: NA1997 .A7313 2021ISBN: 9783775748575Publication Date: 2021-04-13
Women in Architecture by
Including the key articles, documents and reports, and with a comprehensive introduction, newly written by the editor, which places the collected materials in their historical and intellectual context, Women in Architecture is an essential work of reference.The volumes explore four themes - History and Identity; Extraordinary Practice; Wider Influence, and Employment and Education. The collection offers a holistic and non Euro-centric view of women in architecture, with good practice and inspiration from all parts of the world.
Call Number: NA1997 .W655 2019 v.1 - v. 4ISBN: 9781138832930Publication Date: 2018-08-16
I. M. Pei by Call Number: NA737.P365 W57 2001ISBN: 9780810934771Publication Date: 2001"In 1990, I. M. Pei: A Profile in American Architecture was published as the first full-length study of the life and work of this extraordinary artist.
Global Citizen by Call Number: NA749.S2 A4 2015ISBN: 9781857595871Publication Date: 2010Today, as architecture is reasserting its role in popular culture, the architect Moshe Safdie's buildings are exemplars of what has been be termed 'progressive contextualism' - an important way of thinking globally about building. Published to accompany a major international travelling exhibition, Global Citizen: The Architecture of Moshe Safdie will explore this renowned architect's buildings and the philosophy that shapes them. Safdie's canonical works combine the social activism and advanced technologies of modernism, with profound respect for historical and regional context.
Michael Maltzan by Call Number: NA737.M216 A4 2005ISBN: 9780880390453Publication Date: 2005The most complete monograph dedicated to the work of Michael Maltzan and his Los Angeles-based architecture practice, this book presents 16 of Maltzan's most recent projects with full-color photographs, drawings and plans.
Other Space Odysseys by Call Number: NA209.5 .O84 2010ISBN: 9783037781937Publication Date: 2010The book presents, through different odysseys, three responses to the idea of an adventurous journey in space and a future based on technology.
Social Transparency by Call Number: HD7287.6.U52 C27 2016ISBN: 9781941332191Publication Date: 2016For the past decade, the Los Angeles architect Michael Maltzan has designed multiunit housing in a city known for its proliferation of single-family residences. Working with the Skid Row Housing Trust, these projects advance new forms of supportive housing that address the services and infrastructures needed for their particular populations of inhabitants.- Women in Architecture by Call Number: NA1997 .W655 2019 v.1-4ISBN: 9781138832930Publication Date: 2018Including the key articles, documents and reports, and with a comprehensive introduction, newly written by the editor, which places the collected materials in their historical and intellectual context, Women in Architecture is an essential work of reference.
The Architect by Call Number: NA1997 .A682 2001ISBN: 9780823016525Publication Date: 2001"The gender issues surrounding architecture are extraordinarily complex and, frequently, highly emotionally charged. Even the title of this book generated controversy: The original title, The Female Architect, was rejected because it highlighted the fact that the architects whose work is featured here are women, when most want to be considered just as architects. All want their work to be read on its own merits."
AA Women in Architecture by Call Number: NA1997 .A3 2017ISBN: 9781907896910Publication Date: 2017October 2017 marks the centenary of the admission of the first female students to the Architectural Association.
Chasing the Sky by Call Number: NA1997 .D49 2017ISBN: 9781946226020Publication Date: 2019Chasing the Sky is the second book in the '20 Stories' series, with each edition featuring different aspects of the architecture industry.
Hodgetts and Fung by Call Number: NA737.H545 H64 1997ISBN: 9780847818136Publication Date: 1997"With backgrounds in theater, film, and industrial design, Craig Hodgetts and Hsin-Ming Fung, the principals of this award-winning Los Angeles-based firm, celebrate architecture's theatricality and the visual, media-oriented culture of Southern California."
How to Build an Indian House by ISBN: 9789462085534Publication Date: 2020A model for designers of mass housing anywhere: how homes can be built in one of the world's densest cities.
Never Modern by Call Number: NA968 .S33 2013ISBN: 9783906027241Publication Date: 2013In Never Modern, Irenee Scalbert explores the role of narrative, history, and appropriation in the works of the London-based firm 6a Architects, whose recent projects include the South London Gallery, Raven Row, and the new fashion galleries at the Victoria and Albert Museum.
Reveal by Call Number: NA737.S742 A4 2011ISBN: 9781568989938Publication Date: 2011Chicago is famous for its role in fostering modern architecture. Now Jeanne Gang, founder of Studio Gang Architects, is giving the epithet "Chicago School" a new meaning.- Women Design by Call Number: N8354 .S45 2021ISBN: 9780711267404Publication Date: 2021"From architects and product designers to textile artists and digital innovators, Women Design profiles 27 of the most influential female designers from the twentieth century to the present day, showcasing their finest work and celebrating their enduring influence on design throughout history has been profoundly shaped and enhanced by the creativity of women; as shapers, designers, patrons and educators."
Databases
- A&AePortal
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, photography, and design.
- Art & Architecture Archive
Full-text archive of magazines comprising research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Access is for Art & Architecture Archive Collection 1 and 2.
- Art & Architecture Source
Art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as areas of architecture and architectural design.
- Art and Architecture In Video
500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.
- ARTstor
Digital image library of over 2.5 million digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. To save or download images, users must register for an individual account.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this database indexes journal articles on architecture and design, covering subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
Journals
- International Archive of Women in ArchitectureDocumentation of women's role in architecture from Virginia Tech.
- Places JournalPlaces Journal is an essential and trusted resource on the future of architecture, landscape, and urbanism through public scholarship.