Indigenous Art & Architecture

Art of the West by Amy Scott; Stephen Aron (Foreword by); Brian W. Dippie (Afterword by) Since its founding in 1988, the Autry Museum of the American West has expanded its vision and its collections in profound ways. From its original focus on the history, art, and popular culture inspired by the West and its attendant myths, the museum--located in the heart of Los Angeles--has evolved to embrace a more inclusive, complex, and contemporary approach to the American West. Featuring more than 150 color images, this volume highlights the museum's Art of the West exhibit. Alongside these celebrated works of art, Art of the West showcases essays by prominent scholars and art historians who address various topics, ranging from motorcycles to beadwork and photography. Essays devoted to women's art, Native American art, and Chicano photography are important correctives to more traditional and linear models of western art history, with its emphasis on rugged masculinity, Anglo-American pioneers, and the myth of an "untamed" frontier. As Autry Museum curator Amy Scott explains in her introduction, there is not one West; instead, many Wests, comprising diverse collections of places and peoples, form a "complex tapestry of ethnic mixing and geopolitical spaces, diaspora, immigration, industry, infrastructure, tourism, and environmental degradation." By addressing such provocative themes, Art of the West challenges us to look beyond surface appearances, superficial caricatures, and cultural assumptions. The American West emerges as a dynamic place in which memory informs, but does not determine, the present.  

When I Remember I See Red by Frank LaPena (Edited by); Mark Dean Johnson (Edited by); Kristina Perea Gilmore (Other Primary Creator) When I Remember I See Red: American Indian Art and Activism in California features contemporary art by First Californians and other American Indian artists with strong ties to the state. Spanning the past five decades, the exhibition includes more than sixty-five works in various media, from painting, sculpture, prints, and photography, to installation and video. More than forty artists are represented, among them pioneers such as Rick Bartow, George Blake, Dalbert Castro, Frank Day, Harry Fonseca, Frank LaPena, Jean LaMarr, James Luna, Karen Noble, Fritz Scholder, Brian Tripp, and Franklin Tuttle, as well as emerging and mid-career artists. Taking cues from their forebears, members of the younger generation often combine art and activism, embracing issues of identity, politics, and injustice to produce innovative--and frequently enlightening--work. The exhibition, along with the accompanying catalogue, transcends borders, with some California artists working outside the state, and several artists of non-California tribes living and creating within its boundaries. Diverse cultural influences coupled with the extraordinary dissemination of images made possible by technology have led to new forms of expression, making When I Remember I See Red a richly layered experience.   Published in association with the Crocker Art Museum   Exhibition dates: Crocker Art Museum, Sacramento: October 20, 2019-January 26, 2020 Institute of American Indian Arts, Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, Santa Fe: August 14, 2020-January 3, 2021 Autry Museum of the American West, Los Angeles: July 18, 2021-February 27, 2022

Denver Art Museum by Laura Caruso (Text by); Andrea Kalivas Fulton (Text by)

Denver Art Museum: Collection Highlights Published to celebrate the opening of the Denver Art Museum's newly renovated campus, this stunning volume highlights masterworks from the museum's global art collection. Founded in 1893, the Denver Art Museum is now one of the largest art museums between Chicago and the West Coast. Featuring around 70,000 works, the collection represents cultures from Africa and Asia to Europe and Oceania, from the ancient past to the present day. Housed in landmark buildings by Daniel Libeskind and Gio Ponti, the museum also showcases work by regional artists, and provides invaluable ways for the community to learn about the world.

Native American Art in the Denver Art Museum by Richard Conn; Thomas N. Maytham (Illustrator)

Conversations by Ashley Holland (Edited by); Jennifer Complo McNutt (Edited by) This title is the catalogue for the eponymous exhibition of Native American contemporary fine art at the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western History in Indianapolis, IN.

Native Art Now! by Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art Staff (Contribution by); Veronica Passalacqua; Kate Morris; James H. Nottage (Compiled by) The exhibition features 39 iconic works of Native art that the museum acquired primarily through its Eiteljorg Contemporary Art Fellowship, including installations, paintings, prints, sculptures and glass and fabric art. Visually compelling works from artists Truman Lowe, Allan Houser, Kay WalkingStick, Meryl McMaster and Nicholas Galanin among others are included Museum website

The Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art at the University of Oklahoma by Eric McCauley Lee; Rima Canaan; Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art Staff (Contribution by) This beautifully illustrated catalogue highlights 101 works of art from the Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art at the University of Oklahoma. Combining full-color reproductions with explanatory text, the catalogue presents significant examples of Asian, European, American, American Indian, and contemporary art from the museum’s permanent collection. For visitors to the museum and art aficionados, these pages offer a tour of the museum’s exceptional paintings, sculptures, works on paper, and photographs. Arranged in chronological and thematic sequence, the catalogue entries focus on single works, each by a different artist. Authors Eric McCauley Lee and Rima Canaan discuss the artists’ backgrounds and analyze the featured works. Where appropriate, related objects in the collection appear as accompanying illustrations. The celebrated artists represented in the catalogue include Claude Monet, Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Vincent van Gogh, Pablo Picasso, Edward Hopper, Georgia O’Keeffe, Allan Houser, and members of the Taos Society of Artists. Published to coincide with the opening of the museum’s new wing, designed by renowned architect Hugh Newell Jacobsen and named in honor of Mary and Howard Lester, this catalogue celebrates the extraordinary development of the museum’s collections over nearly three-quarters of a century.

Exposure: Native Art and Political Ecology by Manuela Well-Off-Man (Edited by) Indigenous artists worldwide respond to environmental destruction Documenting international Indigenous artists' responses to the impacts of nuclear testing, nuclear accidents and uranium mining on Native peoples and the environment, Exposure gives artists a voice to address the long-term effects of these manmade disasters on Indigenous communities in the United States and around the world. Indigenous artists from Australia, Canada, Greenland, Japan, the Pacific Islands and the US utilize local and tribal knowledge, as well as Indigenous and contemporary art forms as visual strategies for their works. Artists include: Carl Beam (Ojibway), De Haven Solimon Chaffins (Laguna/Zuni Pueblos), Miriquita "Micki" Davis (Chamoru), Bonnie Devine (Anishinaabe/Ojibwa), Joy Enomoto (kanaka maoli/Caddo), Solomon Enos (kanaka maloli), Kohei Fujito (Ainu), Kathy Jetñil-Kijiner (Marshallese-Majol), Alexander Lee (Hakka, Tahiti), Dan Taulapapa McMullin (Samoan), David Neel (Kwagu'l), No'u Revilla (kanaka maoli/maoli-Tahitian), Mallery Quetawki (Zuni Pueblo), Chantal Spitz (maohi), Adrian Stimson (Blackfoot), Anna Tsouhlarakis (Diné/Creek/Greek), Munro Te Whata (Maori/Ninuean) and Will Wilson (Diné).

Making History by Nancy Marie Mithlo (Edited by); Robert Martin; Institute of American Indian Arts Making History: The IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts is a unique contribution to the fields of visual culture, arts education, and American Indian studies. Written by scholars actively producing Native art resources, this book guides readers--students, educators, collectors, and the public--in how to learn about Indigenous cultures as visualized in our creative endeavors. By highlighting the rich resources and history of the Institute of American Indian Arts, the only tribal college in the nation devoted to the arts whose collections reflect the full tribal diversity of Turtle Island, these essays present a best-practices approach to understanding Indigenous art from a Native-centric point of view. Topics include biography, pedagogy, philosophy, poetry, coding, arts critique, curation, and writing about Indigenous art.Featuring two original poems, ten essays authored by senior scholars in the field of Indigenous art, nearly two hundred works of art, and twenty-four archival photographs from the IAIA's nearly sixty-year history, Making History offers an opportunity to engage the contemporary Native Arts movement.

Hearts of Our People by Jill Ahlberg Yohe (Edited by); Teri Greeves (Edited by) Hearts of Our People: Native Women Artists explores the artistic achievements of Native women and establishes their rightful place in the art world. This landmark book includes works of art from antiquity to the present, made in a variety of media from textiles and beadwork to video and digital arts. It showcases artists from more than seventy-five Indigenous tribes to reveal the ingenuity and innovation that have always been foundational to the art of Native women. Women have long been the creative force behind Native art. Hearts of Our People accompanies the first major exhibition of artwork by Native women, presented in close cooperation with top Native women artists and scholars, honoring the achievements of over 115 artists from the United States and Canada spanning over 1,000 years. Their triumphs--from pottery, textiles, and painting, to photographic portraits, to a gleaming El Camino--show astonishing innovation and technical mastery. Beautifully illustrated and enriched by the personal reflections, historical research, and artistic insights of leading scholars and artists in the field, Hearts of Our People: Native Women Artists pays tribute to the vital role and creative force of Native women artists, now and throughout time.

A Western Legacy by National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum Staff (Edited by) From its vantage point in Oklahoma City, the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum commands a rare view of the American West. In half a century it has grown from a Hall of Fame honoring the American cowboy to a world-class institution housing extraordinary collections of art, artifacts, and archival materials. A Western Legacy celebrates the fiftieth anniversary of this premier museum, offering both an institutional history and a captivating collection of photographs representing its extensive holdings. Opening with a history of the museum by David Dary, A Western Legacy presents for the first time in one volume numerous color images of the museum's signature artworks and artifacts, selected for their rarity, superior quality, or historic importance, each accompanied by an interpretive essay. These include examples of western art by Charles M. Russell, Frederic Remington, and others; stunning boots, chaps, and saddles; a diverse selection of traditional and fine art by American Indians; military artifacts; antique photographs; an assortment of rodeo trophies; superlative firearms; and memorabilia from the entertainment world. This volume, which marks the inauguration of The Western Legacies Series, is a stirring testament both to the museum's holdings and to the persistence of western heritage in a new century.

Spirit Capture by Tim Johnson (Edited by) This work brings together two hundred of the most compelling images from the NMAI collection with essays from native American historian, anthropologists, and curators. Natasha Bonilla Martinez describes the sometimes intrusive tactics of filed photographers, who, in quest of authenticity, shot forbidden ceremonies or coerced unwilling subjects to pose. Richard W. Hill Sr., shows how formal portraits of once-feared native leaders such as Sitting Bull, Chief Joseph, and the Red Cloud effectively transformed their subjects into tamed icons. Linda Poolaw takes a personal approach to a selection of photographs by her father Horace Poolaw and others, speaking to their subjects and evoking the texture of their lives.

Visions and Voices by Lydia Wyckoff; Ruthe B. Jones; Marla Redcorn (Compiled by); Andrea Rogers-Henry (Compiled by); Carol Haralson (Designed by) One of the world's great collections of Native American painting is presented in this important catalog, which features reproductions of 484 paintings as well as a history of Native American painting based on interviews and scholarly research, including information on the development of Native American painting at Bacone College in Oklahoma and the role of the Philbrook's Indian Annual juried competition. From a ledger-style painting of the Battle of the Little Bighorn (c. 1892) to a canvas that expresses a Native view of the Vietnam War (c. 1971), the range of imagery represented here is amazingly broad. The catalog section includes biographical information on the artists as well as excerpts from interviews. Among the 160 artists represented here are Narciso Abeyta, Harrison Begay, Woody Crumbo, R. C. Gorman, Joe Herrera, Allan Houser, Oscar Howe, Fred Kabotie, Gerald Nailor, Jerome Tiger, Jimmy Toddy, and Pablita Velarde. Any scholar or serious collector of Native American art will need to refer to this book.

Maria, the legend, the legacy by Susan B. McGreevy; R. C. Gorman Catalogue of an exhibition focused on potter Maria Martinez which opened at the Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian, June 15, 1980.