Skip to Main Content
Libraries Indiana University Bloomington

Indiana Collections at the Archives of Traditional Music

A guide to items recorded in or about Indiana music and culture held by the Archives of Traditional Music.

Playlist of Indiana Music

An Indiana Sampler from the ATM Collections
(Available to all)

This playlist contains short samples from a selection of Indiana-related recordings within the holdings of the Archives of Traditional Music.  It is an unrestricted playlist that is available to all people.

 

 

Media Collections Online Playlist
(Available only to IU affiliates)

This is the same playlist as above, except that it contains complete songs rather than samples from recordings.  Because the playlist contains complete songs, it is only available to current faculty, staff, and students with a valid login at Indiana University.

Playlist Contents:

  • "Hoosier Hop Introduction" Various. WOWO Ft. Wayne. ca. 1946.
  • "Called to Testify." The Traveling Inner Lights. Indianapolis, Indiana. December 28, 1962.
  • "Chicago Kolo." United Serbs. Crown Point, Indiana. May 24, 1987.
  • "Dusty Miller." Bill Monroe and his Blue Grass Boys. Bean Blossom, Indiana. May 1, 1967.
  • "Stardust" Hoagy Carmichael at the piano. 1933.
  • "Saba Samir" Salaam. Bloomington, Indiana. 1999.
  • "Baptist Town Crawl" Hitch's Happy Harmonists. Richmond, Indiana. 1927.
  • "Pretty Sary and discussion." Phoebe Elliot. New Harmony, Indiana. April 10, 1938.
  • "The Jitterbug Rag." "Buss" Clevenger. Union City, Indiana. December 15, 1947.
  • "Der Wahlspruch" and "Abendlauten." Indianapolis Maennerchor. 1966.
  • "Helena Polka" Rhein Valley Brass. Evansville, Indiana. December, 1994.
  • "Catfish Song." Clyde Robinson. Indianapolis, Indiana. September 15, 1961.
  • "Interview about IU in the 1920s." Hoagy Carmichael. 1979.
  • "March of the Hoodlums." Carmichael's Collegians. Gennett Records, Richmond, Indiana. May 2, 1928
  • "Blues." Yank Rachell. Indianapolis, Indiana. December 31, 1962.
  • "Untitled Tsifgegeli." Neo Kyma. Merrillville, Indiana. April 24, 1987.
  • "Be With Me Jesus." The Joybells. Michigan City, Indiana. July 16, 1962.
  • "Interviews at the Monroe County Fair." Bloomington, Indiana. August, 1946.
  • "Lonesome Town." The Elly Maze. Brown County, Indiana. 2002.
  • "The Old Churchyard." Arthur Vandeever. Taswell, Indiana. June 6, 1977.
  • "Give Me the Mushrooms that Kenny Got." Pizzle. Bloomington, Indiana. 1994.
  • "Albert Dougherty Medley." Lotus Dickey. Orange County. April 6-7, 1989.
  • "Reckless and Rust." Krista Detor. Bloomington, Indiana. 2010.
  • "Cynthiana in the Morning." Cornfields and Crossroads. Indianapolis, Indiana. 2007.
  • "Free Girl Now." The Mary Janes. Bloomington, Indiana. 2001.
  • "Group Singing." Indianapolis, Indiana. October 15, 1966.
  • "The Road to Westfield." The Monks. Bloomington, Indiana. 2002.
  • "Brown County Breakdown" Bill Monroe and his Bluegrass Boys. 1955.
  • "The George Washington Song." Verne Smelser. Paoli, Indiana. June 6, 1966.
  • "In the Eye." The Screaming Gypsy Bandits. Bloomington, Indiana. 1973.
  • "Wabash Cannonball." Diamond Hill Station. Terre Haute, Indiana. 2013.
  • "Indiana Hero (Fuller and Warren)." Anna Underhill. Uniontown, Indiana. June 12, 1963.
  • "Flatwoods Waters." Brad Leftwich with Linda Higginbotham. 1996.