Illustrations from IUB Libraries Databases
Citation for Images (left to right)
Author: Zakariya ibn Muhammad Qazwini (ca. 1203-1283), Scribe: Muhammad ibn Muhammad Shakir Ruzmah-'i Nathani. (1121 AH/AD 1717 (Ottoman)). Illustration: Lyre and Cygnus, Leaf from Turkish Version of the Wonders of Creation, Text Title: Tercüme-yi 'Aca'ib ül-mahlukat. [illuminated manuscripts; folios (leaves)]. Retrieved from https://library.artstor.org/asset/AWALTERSIG_10313537349
Jean Baptiste Oudry, French; 1686-1755. (1732 wkg inscr (artist)). Sheep in the Field ("Rien de trop I") Final Published Work: Fable CIXXX, Jean de la Fontaine, Fables Choisies, Paris, 1755-59, Illustrations for La Fontaine's Fable 'Rien de Trop' I, Rien de Trop (illustration of La Fontaine's fable CLXXX Sheep in the Field. [Drawings and Watercolors, pen and ink, Drawing, Prints and Drawings]. Retrieved from https://library.artstor.org/asset/AMICO_CHICAGO_1031151002
Austen, John. Periodical Illustration, ''The illustrations on This Page Are by John Austen and Are From an Edition of 'Hamlet' Published by E.P. Dutton & Co.. [Magazine tearsheet]. Retrieved from https://library.artstor.org/asset/SS7731863_7731863_12555949
Illustration Databases
- American WestCollection of primary sources such original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources, that cover social, political, and economic aspects of the American West.
- Archives Online at Indiana UniversityThis site is a portal for accessing descriptions of Special Collections and Archives - ones chiefly containing materials other than books - from libraries, archives, and other units at Indiana University, Bloomington, and from other institutions around the state of Indiana.
- ARTstor ImagesA digital image library of over 1,000,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
- Associated Press Collections OnlineThe Associated Press Collections Online makes content of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide.
- Current Biography IllustratedProvides access to the full text biographies, images, and obituaries from all of the volumes of Current Biography Yearbook.
- First World War: Propaganda and RecruitmentPrimary sources covering various themes of the First World War providing insight into propaganda and recruitment throughout the Great War
- Frank Leslie's WeeklyFrank Leslie’s Weekly, later known as Leslie’s Weekly, and originally titled Frank Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper, was an American illustrated literary and news publication. One of several such publications started by publisher and illustrator Frank Leslie, it ran from 1855 to 1922.
- Godey's Lady's BookThe most popular women's periodical of its day, with stories, poems, fashion, illustrations and music.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003Archive of the British pictorial weekly, full text and illustrations
- Imperial Russia's Illustrated PressProvides access to five illustrated weekly magazines of late imperial Russia: Iskry, Russkaia illiustratsiia, Sinii zhurnal, Vseobshchii zhurnal, & Zhivopisnaia Rossiia.
- Library of CongressSearchable catalog of items in the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Reading Room.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsThis site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
- Oxford Art OnlineOnline version of award-winning Grove Dictionary of Art contains the fulltext of all 41,000 articles of the 34-volume print edition, including scholarly bibliographies.