Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Image Resources

This guide contains image resources available through IU Libraries (both campus specific and university-wide) as well as information about open access images.

About this Page

IU Summit 2021 Presentation Slide Deck Cover

This page is related to a presentation that the Director of Communications, Michelle Crowe, and the Visual Literacy and Resources Librarian, Jackie Fleming will be giving at the IU StoryTeller's Summit 2021 virtual conference this July. This page contains the visual materials resources that were touched on in the presentation. These resources were chosen because they are available university-wide. The resources are organized into four categories: Archives (IU and General), Maps/GIS, Media, Inspiration. 

 

Consult Permissions and Use Statements on Websites Below

Copyright symbol

"Copyright Symbols" by MikeBlogs is licensed under CC BY 2.0

When using the websites/databases listed on this guide, please make sure to consult the Use & Permissions statement for each resource. In addition to this, please make sure to give proper attribution to any image or visual resource that you use. You can learn more about image attribution by visiting this image citation guide. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to consult any of librarians listed below.

Naz Pantaloni, Head of Copyright Program- nazapant@indiana.edu

Jackie Fleming, Visual Literacy and Resources Librarian- jflemin@iu.edu

Lori Duggan, Head of Acquisitions- lbadger@indiana.edu

Rivkah Cooke, Head of Electronic Resources- racooke@indiana.edu

Visual Material Resources Available to IU Audiences

Media:

 

Videos:

  • Media Collections Online: Media Collections Online (MCO) provides a means for collection managers and select scholarly projects to provide online access to audio and video recordings.
    • Questions about Media Collections Online? Try visiting the Wiki page!

 

News/Newspapers:

  • Chronicling America: Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Search historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
  • Hoosier State Chronicles: Provides access to digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers.

 

Archival Resources:

 

IU Archives

  • Image Collections Online: Image Collections Online showcases image collections curated by libraries, archives, and other cultural heritage institutions of Indiana University. 
  • Charles W. Cushman Photography Collection: 15,000 kodachrome slides by amateur photographer Charles W. Cushman about his travels in the United States and abroad.

General Archives

  • Brazil Cordel Literature Web Archive: Digitized collection of Brazilian chapbooks, known as literatura de cordel. This web archive collection is comprised of sites or blogs containing full-text cordel, video or audio clips of repentista performances, and news about cordel-related events. .
  • Europeana Collections: Provides access to over 50 million digitized items from European archives, libraries, and museums.
  • Hispana: Brings together digital collections of Spanish archives, libraries and museums. Includes access to growing a set of materials, such as manuscripts, printed books, photographs, and maps.
  • Mesoamerican Archive: Cultural Linguistic Archive of Mesoamerica (CLAMA)/Central American and Mexican Video Archive (CAMVA) collection consists of historical records from El Salvador, Nicaragua and Mexico from 1970 through 1999. More than 200 hours of video, and photographic digital materials from these countries histories are used for instructional purposes.

Maps/GIS

  • Atlas of Historical County Boundaries: The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia.
  • BTAA Geoportal: Provides access to geospatial resources, including GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps.
  • IndianaMap: The interactive digital atlas can be used to create custom maps about Indiana, including mineral resources, the environment, geology, biology, hydrology, transportation, demographics and population.
  • The National Geologic Map Database: The National Geologic Map Database contains information about geology-related printed maps and GIS data produced by Federal and state agencies.

Inspiration:

  • Indiana University Images: This website provides general images that are available for public use. We’ve included a curated collection of general images that show the spirit and strength of Indiana University. The collection will be updated quarterly.
  • The Image of the Journalist in Popular Culture: Database with items on journalists, public relations practitioners and media in films, television, radio, fiction, commercials and cartoons. 
  • Commercial Pattern Archive: PLEASE NOTE: Users must register to access. The Commercial Pattern Archive database (CoPA), provides a unique tool for researchers and designers to recreate or date clothing.
  • VADS: Visual Arts Data Service: An online collection of more than 120,000 images of rare and unique library, museum, and archives collections across the United Kingdom.