A Guide to Music Research and Finding Music Resources

This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Current IUB faculty, staff, and students may request new repertoire transpositions. Requests are limited to 30 per user, per semester. To place a request, users must register for an account with their iu.edu email. Select "request new repertoire" at the top of the page, and complete the form. Note: it may take several weeks for requests to be filled, depending on the request and when it is placed. Consult the FAQ on the registration page for complete information on delivery. 

Includes the complete, fully searchable text of the traditional print version of The Chicago Manual of Style. Also includes access to the Chicago Style Q&A, which is another fully searchable resource of questions and answers, and the Tools, which provides examples of forms, letters, and style sheets.

Daniels' Orchestral Music Online is based on the fourth edition (2005) of David Daniels's Orchestral Music: A Handbook. It includes monthly updates with new composers, new works, additional information, and corrections and more than 1,000 changes since publication of the 4th print edition.

The Database of Recorded American Music contains compositions drawn from New World, Composers Recordings, and other labels. The recordings are CD quality audio and include liner notes and essays.

ERIC indexes and abstracts materials in education and related fields. It includes document citations, journal article citations from over 1085 professional journals (983 comprehensive coverage and 102 selective coverage) and ERIC digest full-text records. The database also includes full-text from 84 journals and full-text of most of the ERIC documents from 1993 to the present.

HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all. HathiTrust was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections. HathiTrust will quickly expand to include additional partners and to provide those partners with an easy means to archive their digital content.

Instructions for first time users:

1. Go to the registration page and complete the form. IUB users must register with their iu.edu email address.
2. You will receive an email to confirm your registration.
3. Download the Henle App at the app store of your device. Note: the Henle App is designed for mobile use on tablet computers, so it is available for for iPads and iPhones (iOS 13 and higher), Mac computers that contain the Apple silicon chip (M1 and M2), Android tablets and smartphones (Android 5.0 and higher) as well as on Chromebooks. You can use the app on Windows 11 computers (using the Windows subsystem for Android and the Amazon App store) and Microsoft Surface tablets (Windows 11).
4. Login to the Henle Library App.
5. Please note that users are required to revalidate their account every 3 months by visiting the revalidation page 

Note: Existing users can transfer their data to their new institutional account. To do so, log into the Henle App using your old account details then choose ‘Transfer User Data’ from the account section. Then log in using your institutional account.

IPA Source contains over 15,000 texts including more than 2,100 aria texts. Also included are phonetic transcriptions and literal word-for-word translations.

JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage. 

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.

Since its official launch in May 2008, Medici.tv has gained international recognition, bringing together a community of music and arts lovers. Building on the success of webcasts from the Verbier Festival in 2007, Medici.tv has since offered high-definition webcasts from many other leading festivals, including Aix-en-Provence, Saint-Denis, Aspen, Glyndebourne, and Lucerne, as well as from such music venues as the Opéra National de Paris, Auditorium du Louvre, Cité de la Musique, and Salle Pleyel in Paris, and Milan's famed La Scala. Many operas and concerts performed by the world's top-flight artists and orchestras have been webcast both as live events and later as video-on-demand (VOD).

The Metropolitan Opera is home to creative and talented singers, conductors, composers, musicians, stage directors, designers, visual artists, choreographers, and dancers from around the world.

MGG Online contains articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas, including literature, philosophy, and visual arts. Includes the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.

Business source for music. Includes music industry news, a database featuring artists and artist managers, links to venues and presenters, and a complete directory of arts organizations, and more.

Selections represent a wide range of performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.

Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Includes music recorded around the African continent for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University and material collected on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.

First published in 1997, The Garland Encyclopedia has been the preeminent reference work for research in world music. Includes more than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors.

Music Periodicals Database covers a range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone. Articles examine a spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music forms and composition.

Primarily classical music, but also some coverage of jazz and world music. Due to copyright restrictions, some titles are not available in the United States. 

To utilize the Naxos player on your smartphone:

1. Create a Student Playlist account.  This will act as your login credentials for the NML mobile apps.
2. Download the app from your respective store.
3. Complete the registration process by clicking the activation link in your email.

Additional access options:

• Access to the New York Times Online (nytimes.com and via apps)
• Access to the New York Times from 2008 to the present (with a lag time of about three months)
  Digitized microfilm of the NYT with a 3-month embargo. Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

Search Tips

Using Advanced search, the Index feature allow you to search terms in the NYT index by:
Subject
Company/Org
Person
Location

The full text of the New York Times from its first issue in 1851-2013. Images of the actual texts of articles and of the full page on which the articles appear are presented. Supplements, including the Magazine and the Book Review, are present. Searches can be limited to a supplement or a section only with this command

section(magazine) -OR- section(business)

Provides indexing and abstracts from over 395 scholarly and popular performing international arts periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. Also includes biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, and television.

Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions

Offers international coverage of the music scene, covering books, bibliographies, conference proceedings, catalogs, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften, films, iconographies, and videos.

Includes access to two volumes:

Theatre in Video: Volume I: access to plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials in more than 550 hours of streaming video.  Covers 20th century theater history, from productions of Shakespeare to in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett.

Theatre in Video: Volume II: greater focus on new and international productions. Includes new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.

WorldCat is OCLC's Online Union Catalog. It is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 33 million bibliographic records from libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to do a comprehensive search of published material, to verify citations, or to identify other libraries that own an item.