Librarian
Books vs Articles
| Books | Articles |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Finding books
Use IUCAT to look for books, videos, and other materials held by the IU Libraries.
- Search for Subject: "social conflict" case studies (or use this subject search: "ethnic conflict" case studies)
- Refine results by format, author, year, and subject
- Use filters to limit to just the Bloomington campus and electronic format. Limiting to Bloomington is important because access to electronic books is campus-specific.
- If the book you want is not in e-book format, contact your librarian. We will purchase an e-book version if possible.
Below are some possible subject searches in IUCAT to get you started. The links will take you to results in the IU library cataloged, limited to ebooks and Bloomington. Add keywords in the search box to zero in on ore specific topics.
- Social Conflict
- Ethnic Conflict
- Culture Conflict
- Cooperativeness
- Prisoner's Dilemma Game
- Conflict Management
- Consensus (Social Sciences)
You may also browse by subject in IUCAT.
War and Religion: an Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict [3 Volumes] by
This three-volume reference provides a complete guide for readers investigating the crucial interplay between war and religion from ancient times until today, enabling a deeper understanding of the role of religious wars across cultures. * Enables readers to explore the ongoing and important relationship between war and religion across history through coverage of the wars themselves; the important leaders, battles, and campaigns; and the treaties that resulted from these wars * Directs readers to further reading material and supplies a comprehensive bibliography that guides further inquiry into the topic of war and religion * Supplies primary source documents that include letters written by participants of the Crusades, proclamations and declarations from the Protestant Reformation, and UN documents related to war and religion
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781610695176Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts by
Each of 38 ethnic conflicts is presented with a timeline and extensive essay covering the conflict's details, historical background, management, and significance. This book is the perfect starting point for students and general readers seeking information about the complex and often violent forces that have changed--and continue to change--the world's political landscape.
ISBN: 0313313814Publication Date: 2003-04-30
Horizontal Inequalities and Conflict by
Drawing on econometric evidence and in-depth studies of West Africa, Latin America and Southeast Asia, this book explores how horizontal inequalities - ethnic, religious or racial - are a source of violent conflict and how political, economic and cultural status inequalities have contributed. Policies to reverse inequality would reduce these risks.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780230582729Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by
The 2nd edition of Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict provides timely and useful information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life. Building on the highly-regarded 1st edition (1999), and publishing at a time of seemingly inexorably increasing conflict and violent behaviour the world over, the Encyclopedia is an essential reference for students and scholars working in the field of peace and conflict resolution studies, and for those seeking to explore alternatives to violence and share visions and strategies for social justice and social change. Covering topics as diverse as Arms Control, Peace Movements, Child Abuse, Folklore, Terrorism and Political Assassinations, the Encyclopedia comprehensively addresses an extensive information area in 225 multi-disciplinary, cross-referenced and authoritatively authored articles. In his Preface to the 1st edition, Editor-in-Chief Lester Kurtz wrote: "The problem of violence poses such a monumental challenge at the end of the 20th century that it is surprising we have addressed it so inadequately. We have not made much progress in learning how to cooperate with one another more effectively or how to conduct our conflicts more peacefully. Instead, we have increased the lethality of our combat through revolutions in weapons technology and military training. The Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict is designed to help us to take stock of our knowledge concerning these crucial phenomena." Ten years on, the need for an authoritative and cross-disciplinary approach to the great issues of violence and peace seems greater than ever.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780123695031Publication Date: 2008
