Skip to Main Content

SOC S410 Intergroup Conflict

Tips

Not all the citations in Google Scholar are accurate!

When you are starting a new research topic, OneSearch@IU or the appropriate subject database are better bets.

Ask a Librarian (Chat)

Article Searching

Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Try Academic Search (EBSCO)

This database includes articles from newspapers, popular magazines, and academic journals.

Access the database from the IU Libraries home page or the Sociology Resources page. (If you are using the database off-campus, you will need to enter your user name and passphrase first.)
Click Advanced Search
Try the same search terms as in IUCAT: e.g. Ethnic conflict in SU Subject terms (use the drop-down menu to select Subject terms search)
Sort by source
To limit your results to magazine articles, select Magazines from the “Source Types” menu box on the left and click Update

To save or print results:

Click the Add to Folder link at the bottom of the record
Go to Folder View on the right side of the screen under “Folder has items”
Select items you wish to save, print, or export
Select the citation format you wish to use (e.g. APA)
Click Print
Copy and paste into Word or print the page directly

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is best used when you already have a citation to a book or article and want to find it online.