Business Resources
The Libraries subscribe to databases that contain academic journals, professional publications, news, data and statistics and government information. Access these resources from both on- and off-campus by using the links in this guide or on the Libraries' webpage.
The Business Subject Page has curated lists of business resources and a link to a complete list of business databases.
Company Resources
For company directories, profiles and analyses, you can start with these resources:
-
MarketLine Advantage
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
-
LSEG Workspace
Access to financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools. Please note: users are required to register with their iu.edu email for access. For complete instructions, please see the LSEG Workspace section of the Resources with Special Account Creation Instructions document.
-
Reference Solutions
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
-
S&P Capital IQ
S & P Capital IQ is a web and Excel-based financial research application produced by Standard & Poor's. It organizes historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide, provide clients with the data necessary to analyze company fundamentals, build financial models, screen for investment ideas, and execute other financial research tasks. Some user-friendly features are its chart builder, screening tools and Excel Plug-in modeling tools.
Available for IU Bloomington-affiliated users only. Requires individual registration for access using official iu.edu email account. To sign up, select “New User?”. Questions related to registration should be directed to the Kelley School of Business.
Finance Resources
• Bloomberg
Two terminals located in the BSIC.
-
EDGAR (SEC)The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's EDGAR database provides free public access to company filings.
Marketing Resources
For information on demographics, marketing strategy and market research, start with these resources:
-
Mintel ReportsReports that include consumer and market data and analysis and marketing strategies. To get started with this database, see this video.
-
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
-
MRI-Simmons InsightsData on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions. See this video to learn how to create a quick demographic profile.
-
Statista
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
News and Literature Resources
To access news articles and trade publication for background information, trends and case studies, use these resources:
-
Business Source CompleteRegional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
-
EBSCO Management Collection
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
-
ABI/INFORM CollectionContains more than 2,890 publications, offering the latest business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment.
-
FactivaContains more than 25,000 sources including The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, and the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.
-
Nexis UniIncludes articles from international newspapers, magazines, transcripts, legal research and medical journals.
Industry/Market Resources
For industry and market reports and analyses, use these resources:
-
MarketLine Advantage
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
-
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
-
Mergent Intellect
Provides access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.
-
Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors.
-
BCC Research
Access to market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. Provides the latest trends, opportunities, challenges, and innovations emerging within these landscapes.
-
Statista
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.