Course Description
"This course addresses issues of Asian American ethnicity, culture, and race as they relate to mental health, psychopathology, and mental health services."
Explore Search Examples
Click on the images below to explore the search examples within the resource. Click on the name of the Archive to be taken to that archive's home page.
Scholarly Journal and Magazine Cross-Search Examples
Search Terms: "Asian American" AND "Mental Health"
Search Terms: "Asian American" AND "Mental Health" AND "Ethnicity"
Search Terms: "Asian American Culture" & Search Within: "Mental Health"
Search Terms: "Psychopathology" & Search Within: "Asian American"
Search Terms: "Mental Health Services" & Search Within: "Asian American"
Primary Source Search Examples:
Search Terms: "Mental Health Services" & Search Within: "Asian American"
archive: Political Extremism and Radicalism archive: Political Extremism and Radicalism
Search Terms: Asian American Community" & Search Within: "Mental Health"
archive: Archives of Sexuality and Gender archive: Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Search Terms: "Psychopathology" & Search Within: "Asian American"
archive: Political Extremism and Radicalism archive: Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Best Bet Scholarly Journal Resources
Click on the resource icons below to be taken to the home page of the resource. Click on the video icon to find a tutorial about the resource.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women’s Issues offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe with access to current full-text and pertinent backfile content. The database covers topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine contains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Best Bet Primary Sources
Click on the resource icons below to be taken to the home page of the resource. Click on the video icon to find a tutorial about the resource.
Political Extremism and Radicalism provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources. Content supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and much more.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender dating back to the sixteenth century. With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in this collection present important aspects of LGBTQ life. Researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.