Course Description
"Examines the history of Asian migration to the United States from the mid-nineteenth century to the present as part of the making of the "Pacific World." Major themes to be explored include community formation, race, citizenship, nation, and transnationalism."
Explore Search Examples
Click on the images below to explore the search examples within the resource. Click on the name of the Archive to be taken to that archive's home page.
Search Examples: "Asian Immigration" AND "United States" AND "Citizenship"
Search Examples: "Coolie Trade"
Search Examples: "Asian American" AND "Transnationalism"
Best Bet Primary Sources
Click on the resource icons below to be taken to the home page of the resource. Click on the video icon to find a tutorial about the resource.
Smithsonian Collections Online allows users to search rare nineteenth and twentieth-century archives on topics like the evolving modes of flight, World's Fairs, and more.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender dating back to the sixteenth century. With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in this collection present important aspects of LGBTQ life. Researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers is an archive dedicated to the ACLU, the principal defender of the rights that citizens can assert against their government for most of the twentieth century. ACLU files featured in the collection include bills; legal briefs; correspondence from concerned parties such as those objecting to military service belonging to religious or political groups, or union organizers and members; court documents; legal case files; memorandums; minutes from meetings; newspaper clippings; reports; scrapbooks; and telegrams. The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers is split into two parts: Part I, 1912-1990 and Part II, Southern Regional Office.
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 is a comprehensive database of full-text Anglo-American legal treatises. This archive covers nearly every aspect of American and British law and encompasses a broad array of the analytical, theoretical, and practical literature for research in U.S. and British legal history, tracing the evolution of historical and contemporary legal thought in both nations during a period of monumental change. Researchers can browse through casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other works from the most influential writers and legal thinkers of the time. The database provides researchers with a logical, interdisciplinary approach to the study of modern law and allows a vast segment of the literature of law to be quickly searched by specific keywords or phrases, full text, author, title, date, subject, source library, and more.
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800–1926 is based on both bibliographic sources and advisor/selector recommendations, with titles in the collection that address such topics as administration of justice and administrative law; agriculture; bankruptcy; biography; business and commercial law; communications, regulated utilities and trades and crafts; constitutional law; contracts; copyright and intellectual law; family law; international law; jurisprudence; labor and social welfare; legal education, history, and profession; legislature, politics, and government; local government, civil service, and judicial assistance; maritime law; medical jurisprudence; military justice; national defense; natural resources; probate or notoriat, obligations, practice and private law; procedural law; public law, education, health, and use planning; public property; real property; reference works and bibliographies; religion; taxation and public finance; torts; transportation; trials; trust and estate.
Drawn from Joseph Sabin’s famed bibliography, this archive is one of the most comprehensive resources on the study of history and culture in the Americas, spanning more than 425 years. Provides firsthand accounts of all aspects of the Americas, including life in North, Central, South America, and the West Indies. Topics covered include slavery, colonization, Native peoples, war, religion, social and political reforms, and economic development.
China and the Modern World is a series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library. The series covers a period of about 180 years (1800s to 1980s) when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic. Consisting of monographs, manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and letters, historical photos, ephemera, and other kinds of historical documents, these collections provide excellent primary source materials for the understanding and research of the various aspects of China during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, such as diplomacy/international relations, economy/trade, politics, Christianity, sinology, education, science and technology, imperialism, and globalization.
The Financial Times Historical Archive is an online, fully searchable database that delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue to 2016. Every article, advertisement, and market listing is included—shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day. Initially focused on the global financial and economic issues that were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century, the Financial Times expanded coverage in the postwar years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy, and international politics. In more recent decades, coverage of management, personal finance, and the arts has been added.
In addition to the complete contents of FT Magazine and How to Spend It, the archive includes access to detailed coverage of foreign affairs, all classified and display advertising, and invaluable historical financial data in the form of daily price/stock indexes and currency tables. This historical archive is a comprehensive, accurate, and unbiased research tool for those studying economic and business history and current affairs of over the last 130 years.