Course Description
"Survey of Asian American literary production featuring works from a variety of genres--lyric poetry, short fiction, drama, non-fiction, life writing and novels. Works selected from American writers of Asian descent including those of Chinese, Filipino, Indian, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Nepalese, Pakistani, Taiwanese, or Vietnamese heritage."
Explore Gale Resources
Click on the resource icons below to be taken to the resource home page. Click on the images or links to explore the search examples within the resource.
Literature Criticism: Asian American Literature Topic Overview & Search Examples
LitFinder: Search Examples
Person Search: Ethnicity: Asian American
Works Search: Type of Work: Ballad, Poem, Poetry Collection, Song. Ethnicity: Asian American
Search Terms: "Culture" OR "Experience" & Filter: Ethnicity: Asian American
Search Terms: "Immigration" & Filter: Ethnicity: Asian American
Search Terms: "Transnation*" & Filter: Ethnicity: Asian American
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Best Bet Literature Resources
Click on the resource icons below to be taken to the home page of the resource. Click on the video icon to find a tutorial about the resource.
Gale Literature Criticism contains centuries of literary analysis, from scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. It includes criticism on works in children’s literature, classic and medieval literature, literature from the 1400s to 1800s including the works of Shakespeare, drama, nineteenth- and twentieth-century literature, short stories, and poetry.
Gale Literature Resource Center provides researchers with unbounding literary resources to support their own literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented. The database features primary works in a variety of genres, up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews that encourage interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history, including full-text poems and poetry citations, short stories, inaugural presidential speeches, and plays. LitFinder also contains biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Researchers can quickly search for a particular author or identify authors linked by qualities such as gender, nationality, century, and genre using person search. Works search functions similarly, giving users the ability to browse works by thousands of subjects, themes, genres, and literary movements.
Dictionary of Literary Biography includes biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Dictionary of Literary Biography is an invaluable source for tracing the development and evolution of an author's writing and reputation. The online collection is comprised of three series: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook.