Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Gender

A guide to researching topics at the intersection of visual art and gender. Includes tips for researching artists, as well as a list of sample artists working in different media.

Books

The Gender of Photography

Using French and English photo journals, cartoons, art criticism, novels, and early career guides aimed at women, this volume shows why and how early photographic clubs, journals, exhibitions, and studios insisted on masculine values and authority, and how Victorian women engaged with photography despite that dominant trend. Focusing on the period before 1890, when women were yet to develop the self-assurance that would lead to broader recognition of the value of their work, this study probes the mechanisms by which exclusion took place and explores how women practiced photography anyway, both as amateurs and professionals.

Photography after Photography: Gender, Genre, History

This book is an inquiry into the circuits of power that shape photographic practice, criticism, and historiography. The author considers Cindy Sherman, Robert Mapplethorpe, Susan Meiselas, Francesca Woodman, and others.

Photography, a Feminist History

This feminist retelling of the history of photography puts women in the picture--and, more importantly, behind the camera! The book includes work from more than 200 different women and nonbinary photographers along with short essays on 75 different artists, as well as interviews.

Ask a Librarian (Chat)

Transgender + Nonbinary + Genderqueer Photographers

Interviews

Articles

Books

Media

Cis Photographers

Artist Search IUCAT for books and other resources in the IU Libraries. Search OneSearch for articles and other resources in the IU Libraries and elsewhere. Search the Archives of Sexuality and Gender for primary source materials.

Search the IU LGBTQ+ Library catalog for books and other resources.

Archival collections Artist's Website

Berenice Abbott

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Berenice Abbott papers

 

Joan E. Biren

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ+ Library

Joan E. Biren papers

Cathy Cade

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Cathy Cade Photographs Collection

http://cathycade.com/

Tammy Rae Carland

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Tammy Rae Carland "I (heart) Amy Carter" Riot Grrrl Collection

Lola Flash

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

http://www.lolaflash.com/

Eve Fowler

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Richard Fung

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

http://www.richardfung.ca/

Sonali Gulati

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

https://www.sonalifilm.com/

Barbara Hammer

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Barbara Hammer papers

https://barbarahammer.com/

Michelle Handelman

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

https://www.michellehandelman.com/

Marie Høeg

OneSearch

Kiss and Tell Collective

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

https://atom.archives.sfu.ca/msc-165

Catherine Opie

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Jill Posener

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ+ Library

Del LaGrace Volcano

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

https://www.dellagracevolcano.se/

David Wojnarowicz

IUCAT

OneSearch

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ+ Library

David Wojnarowicz Papers