Image Sources for Gender + Art
- Art Works at the Digital Transgender ArchiveThe Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) provides an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
- Women Artists to WatchArtsy maintains a database of contemporary artists; this is a collection of women artists' artwork.
- ARTstorArtstor includes a broad spectrum of images related to gender. The Schlesinger Library of the History of Women in America may be of particular interest. This archive represents the work of both professional and amateur artistic and documentary photographers, including many women.
- A Space of Their OwnDesigned as a tool for reference, teaching, and exploration, A Space of Their Own is regularly updated and expanded to provide new insights about historical and contemporary women artists. The database launched in early 2022 with a core group of records documenting the lives and careers of women artists working in Europe and the United States between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.
General Artwork Databases
- Art & Architecture ArchiveFull-text archive of magazines comprising research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Access is for Art & Architecture Archive Collection 1.
- Art & Architecture Source
Art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as areas of architecture and architectural design.
- ArtstorA digital image library of over 1,000,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
- Bridgeman Education
Online digital library of images sourced from over 8,000 locations covering the world’s major museums, art collections, and historical sites. Includes access to over 3 million images, all copyright-cleared for educational use.
- Oxford Art Online
Encyclopedia articles about artists, architects, and artistic movements & periods, as well as bibliographies for further research. Also includes thousands of searchable images.