Anthropology

Coverage includes fields of Botany, Zoology, Microbiology, Biomedical, Agriculture, Pharmacology, and Ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as Medicine, Biochemistry, Biophysics, Bioengineering, and Biotechnology are also included.

Medline provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as:

The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.


Medline's in-process records  provide basic citation information and abstracts before the citations are indexed with NLM's MeSH Terms and added to MEDLINE.

Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Bibliographical references from more than 6,000 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books and reports, representing research in all major areas of zoology, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, zoogeography.

The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Includes indexing to over 800 journals in linguistics.  Areas covered include: anthropological linguistics, clinical linguistics, comparative linguistics, computational and statistical linguistics, dialectology, discourse analysis, educational linguistics, ethnolinguistics, geolinguistics, grammar, historical linguistics, mathematical linguistics, morphology, neurolinguistics, philosophical linguistics, phonetics, phonology,pragmatics, psycholinguistics, reading and writing studies, semantics, sociolinguistics, stylistics, and syntax.

It contains references to scholarly research from journals and series, monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.

Second Edition, Edited by William J. Frawley

The Encyclopedia encompasses a range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia a resource relevant not only to linguistics but also to scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.

The second edition of IEL contains 957 articles and about half as many more headwords and subheadwords, given an increase in blind entries (place-holder entries that point to others for their content). All the articles from the first edition are updated in some way, with most ranging from 40 percent revision to complete rewriting. About 15 percent of the articles are new and about 3 percent of the first-edition entries were eliminated from the second. The extensive updating of a ten-year-old reference work slated to endure at least another decade led to the addition of some theories and subfields, the elimination of others, expanded treatment of some existing concepts because of their rising importance, and reduced treatment of others because of their increasingly limited role in the field.

Also provides access to the current issues of peer-reviewed AAA journals, including: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Annals of Anthropological Practice, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Anthropology & Humanism, Anthropology News, Anthropology of Consciousness, Anthropology of Work Review, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Bulletin of the National Association of Student Anthropologists, Central Issues in Anthropology, City & Society, CSAS Bulletin, Cultural Anthropology, Culture, Agriculture, Economic Anthropology, El Mensajero, Ethnographic Praxis in Industry Conference Proceedings, Ethos, Food and Environment, General Anthropology Bulletin of the General Anthropology Division, The Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Journal of the Society for the Anthropology of Europe, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, Museum Anthropology, National Association for the Practice of Anthropology (NAPA) Bulletin, North American Dialogue, Nutritional Anthropology, PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review, Proceedings of the African Futures Conference, SOLGAN, Teaching Anthropology: SACC Notes, Transforming Anthropology, Visual Anthropology Review, and Voices. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.

IBSS indexes anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology, and interdisciplinary research in social sciences. It is compiled by the London School of Economics and Political Science, and includes over three million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It incorporates over 100 languages and countries. 

This database is the electronic equivalent of four separate print indexes: International Bibliography of Anthropology (REF Z5111.I62); International Bibliography of Economics (REF Z7164.E2 I62); International Bibliography of Political Science (REF Z7163. I62); and International Bibliography of Sociology (REF Z7161. I62).
 

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

Very little scholarly material exists about Southern Sudan, which can be readily explained given the unstable political situation and 50 plus years of civil war in the region; yet, the Nuer are known to most students of anthropology. In fact, it has been pointed out that the Nuer may well be the most important case study in the history of anthropology. This is a result of Sir Edward Evans-Pritchard’s classic studies from the 1930s. He was the first anthropologist working in Africa who used research methods based on long-term fieldwork and participant observation. Based on his fieldwork among the Nuer he published three ethnographies which are now classics in the field and studied by many students of anthropology (Evans-Pritchard 1940; 1951; 1956). In fact, he dedicated one of his books to the "staff of the American Mission at Nasser", which is where Ms. Vandevort was stationed. Jon Holtzman, author of a book about Nuer immigrants in the U.S. (Holtzman 2000), points out that 'virtually all introductory textbooks in anthropology make reference (and usually multiple reference) to the Nuer as a central example for various aspects of human culture.

Includes the complete, fully searchable text of the traditional print version of The Chicago Manual of Style. Also includes access to the Chicago Style Q&A, which is another fully searchable resource of questions and answers, and the Tools, which provides examples of forms, letters, and style sheets.

This resource covers a wide range of topics including acculturation, archaeology, education, Ethnohistory, and economic development, folklore, the gaming industry, missions, mythology, religion, and tribal governments.

Early Encounters in North America contains letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of the peoples, cultures and the environment of North America between the fifteenth and nineteenth centuries. Among the documents are such items as: Baegert, Jacob, 1717-1772, An Account of the Aboriginal Inhabitants of the Californian Peninsula, Ordway, John, 1775(?)-1817(?), The Journals of Captain Meriwether Lewis and Sergeant John Ordway Kept on the Expedition, 1803-1806, and Colden, Lord Cadwallader, 1688-1776, Letters and Papers of Cadwallader Colden, vol. 8: 1715-1748. The full text of the sources in the database is searchable. Images are included as well as text, and a search of Audubon, John James yields 594 of his wildlife paintings.

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

Also includes information about the plays and their production, and biographical data, as well issues of the Native playwrights' newsletter. The collection represents groups across the United States and Canada , including Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Hawaiian/Samoan, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, and others. newsletter.

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

Access is for Volumes 1-4.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I and II: Foundational Films 
Includes classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Includes films by indigenous filmmakers. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. 

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives
Includes titles by contemporary visual anthropologists. Also contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media.

Includes nearly 200 contributors discuss regions, people, ingredients, companies, advertising, historical eras, holidays and festivals, and political, scientific, and economic currents relevant to American cuisine.

Covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in the database America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. It currently indexes about 2,300 journals in 40 languages, with indexing also for some books and dissertations. Most of the article citations include abstracts of 75-100 words.