Anthropology

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

Access is for Volumes 1-4.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I and II: Foundational Films 
Includes classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Includes films by indigenous filmmakers. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. 

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives
Includes titles by contemporary visual anthropologists. Also contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media.

National Geographic Magazine Archive includes every page and every photograph published in the magazine, 1888-1994.You may browse issues or search for text or images. The map supplements are also part of the archive. Includes National Geographic Magazine 1888-Current and National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World.