Diversity Resources from IU Libraries

Blogging Hoosier History:

The Indiana University Archives' blog features stories on collections, as well as "Sincerely Yours - Letters from the Archives." To access the blog website, click on this link.

Blogging Hoosier History Posts:

• Eddie Whitehead: Breaking I.U.'s Color Barrier in Baseball
• Fostering Friendships, Not Boundaries-The IU Chapter of the Cosmopolitan Club
• Gerardo Gonzalez, the Briefcase, and the University Archives
• Josephine Grima: IU's First Mexican Student
• A Previously Unknown IU Pioneer
• "Reflections on Diversity": Highlights from the Eugene Chen Eoyang Papers
• Sincerely Yours-Letters from the Archives: A Viennese Jewish Refugee of WWII, Charlotte (Lotte) Lederer
• An Update on "Miss Carrie"
• The Women's Liberation Movement at IU

• Archives Photo Collection: This database is an ongoing project to provide access to the collection; images are added daily. The majority of these were shot by Indiana University’s Photographic Services Department, Athletic Department, and News Bureau. The remaining images were shot mostly by local professional photographers, alumni, and faculty. Nearly all of the images document the history of IU. 
• Bloomington Faculty Council Minutes: The digitized BFC collection features two key documents: BFC minutes and circulars. The BFC minutes are verbatim transcriptions of the monthly BFC meetings from each academic year. The circulars are supplementary documents that often serve as the basis of discussions at BFC meetings and range in scope from Memorial Resolutions to policy changes in the Academic Calendar or Faculty Handbook.
• Board of Trustees Minutes : The Trustees minutes includes official acts, resolutions, policies, agreements, and other business records pertaining to the governance of Indiana University. This is an excellent resource locating documentation on campus buildings, faculty appointments, and larger issues pertaining to Indiana University.
• Cultural Center Records
  • Gamma Phi Omega Records, 1989-1999
  • Indiana University Latino Cultural Center Records, 1968-2003
  • Indiana University Asian Culture Center Records, 1988-2014
  • Indiana University LGBTQ+ Culture Center Records, 1970-2019
• IU Administrative Records
  • Folklore and Ethnmusicology Publications Records, 1942-2004
  • Groups Student Support Services Records, 1967-1993
  • Indiana University Commission on Multicultural Understanding Records, 1979-2010
  • Indiana University Folklore Institute Student Papers, 1967-2000
  • Indiana University Folklore Institute Material Culture Papers, 1953-1984
  • Indiana University Office of African American Affairs Records, 1950-1998
  • Indiana University Office for Women's Affairs, Records, 1968-2012
• IU Bicentennial Oral History Project: he mission of this project is to record, preserve, and make available to future generations the memories and experiences of IU alumni, faculty, and staff university-wide. Capturing an institutional history of IU that is not written solely from the perspective of administrators, with a focus on documenting underrepresented voices, helps to provide a better understanding of the broader history of Indiana University.
• Visit the website to access these oral histories and their transcripts: oralhistory.iu.edu
  • Kathryn Blackwell Oral History
  • Gerardo Gonzalez Oral History
  • Starla Hart Oral History
  • Sean Johnson Oral History
  • Gloria Randle Scott Oral History
• Personal Papers

  • Frank de Caro and Rosan A. Jordan papers, 1910-2014

  • Gerardo M. Gonzalez papers, 1952-2018

  • Charlie Robertson papers, 1964-2012

  • Charlie Nelms papers, 1967-2016

  • Camilla Williams papers, 1947-2010

• Student Life Groups

  • Indiana University Board of Aeons Records, 1920-2013

  • Indiana University Student Association Records, 1953-2010

  • Indiana University Student Senate Records, 1938-1979

  • Union Board Records, 1912-2010

  • Union Board Scrapbooks, 1932-2012

• Arbutus Yearbooks: The Arbutus Yearbooks are located on the north side of the wall in the reading room. Through IUL’s Ancestry.com subscription, you can access a nearly full run of the yearbooks. To locate: Scroll to bottom of Ancestry home page->Schools, Directories & Church Histories->US School Yearbooks->on right hand side, choose Indiana-Bloomington-Indiana University. Later yearbooks can be accessed at: https://www.iuyearbook.com/page/archives.

• Indiana Alumni Magazine: Full runs of the print Indiana Alumni Quarterly and Indiana Alumni Magazine are located on the north side wall in the Archives reading room. IAQ and select IAM can be accessed via the HathiTrust:

  • Indiana Alumni Magazine-Alumni Magazine through HathiTrust, spans 1938-1948. Full text searchable.

  • Indiana University Alumni Quarterly-Predecessor to the Alumni Magazine, full text available via HathiTrust. Spans 1914-1938.

• Indiana Daily Student (IDS):The Indiana Daily Student spanning 1867-1922 can be searched in the NewspaperARCHIVE (with some spotty coverage); however, the later papers will need to be searched on microfilm. Microfilm can be accessed on the 2nd floor of the East Tower in the Wells Library. The Archives also has an index for the IDS that goes through 1938, which will help fill the gap between what is in the NewspaperARCHIVE and the microfilm.

• IU Bulletins:The IU Bulletins contain valuable information about faculty and university departments. In earlier editions, all students are listed. Access many of these via the HathiTrust:

  https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/009033180

  https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/006923704

  Later bulletins can be accessed online at http://bulletins.iu.edu/iub.

• IU Websites on Archive-It:The Indiana University Web Sites collection is an extension of the holdings of the University Archives which is responsible for the appraisal, acquisition, preservation and use of University records of permanent value and the private records of individuals and organizations associated with Indiana University. The Archive includes sites created by the University community.

Visit the website: https://archive-it.org/collections/219

• Online Exhibitions: http://collections.libraries.indiana.edu/iubarchives/index

• Reference Files: The Reference Files are organized alphabetically by subject and contain very useful information that may direct you to other primary and secondary sources.