Library Research Guides: BUS W520 Turnaround Management: Home

Industry Information and Trends

Understanding wider industry trends and market forces can be helpful when advising a company. Start with these databases.

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
Try the reports on Live Performance Theaters, Performers & Creative Artists, and Concert and Event Promotion to learn about markets, trends and the economic and social forces that affect the industry.
Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
To access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. See the report on Performing Arts Companies, and on the Arts, Entertainment & Recreation Sector.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, broadcast, circus, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and more.
GuideStar Pro
- This link opens in a new window
Search for performing arts and other non-profit organizations by NTEE code and geography.
Allows users to search and filter organizations by granular income, expense, assets, and number of employees, as well as analyze an organization's year-over-year profit, revenue, expenses. Users can also verify organizations’ current IRS status with GuideStar Charity Check, and see nonprofit contractors. In-depth nonprofit information is available for download, users are limited to 1,000 downloads per month.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
See the report on Theatre and Music Production in the USA for cost and market structure and more.

Consumer Demographics, Attitudes and Behaviors

Try these sources for information on demographics and market research on consumer attitudes, behaviors and opinions

Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
While there is not much on theater, specifically, there is a lot of information here on marketing to specific groups of people, media engagement, and consumer attitudes and behaviors surrounding various products and lifestyle issues, many with COVID-specific information. See this video for an overview of this database.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.
Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Find information on which consumers attend live theater, concerts, dance performances and learn other things about these demographic groups, like what kind of media they engage with and how they respond to various kinds of messaging and promotions. This video will show you how to make a demographic profile; one kind of report available here.
Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView, and prior to that Simmons Choices3) provides data on adult U.S. consumers based on national surveys. The data includes consumer demographics (age, gender, income ...), consumer psychographics (behavior, attitudes ...) and buying and media habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions.
SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.

The Business of Theater

It's called "show business" for a reason and our business-focused databases have some great articles about live theater. Search for theater or for "arts management," or browse issues of specific theater publications like Backstage or The Journal of Arts Management, Law, and Society .

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
Regional Business News
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text coverage of 75 regional business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Includes full-text for more than 100 business publications, with full-text coverage dating back to 1990. Includes such titles as: Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

News & Popular Press

IU Libraries has several databases that let you search across a wide variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as offering direct access to some local and national newspapers.

Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Includes electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide. Narrow your search to Indiana to find articles from various local papers.
Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels. Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.
Herald-Times
- This link opens in a new window
Local newspaper for Bloomington, Indiana, and surrounding communities. Users may access the E-Edition of the HTO here.

Additional access options: access to content 1988-Present (with a slight lag time for new issues) is available via Access World News.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to national and international newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
New York Times Online
- This link opens in a new window
Access to nytimes.com and via apps. Additional access options for the New York Times are available.

IUB Affiliates: To register for access, go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT. Students will be prompted to provide their anticipated graduation date in order to complete the registration process. Once activated, you can access all content at NYTimes.com from a Web browser, as well as via NYTimes.com smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. Students will need to renew the IUB Group Pass annually. Faculty will need to renew every 4 years.

Click more for complete activation and renewal instructions, access for unaffiliated users, and additional access options.
Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://www.nytimes.com/services/mobile/index.html (Please note e-reader apps are excluded from our Academic Group Pass.)

New IUB Affiliated Users - One-Time Activation of NYTimes.com IUB Group Pass
1. Go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT
2. Create a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address. (Note: If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address, you may log in with those credentials)
3. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear
4. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location

Returning IUB Affilated Users
Once you have activated your IUB Group Pass account, it should allow you full access until your expiration date with no further action on your part. However, if for any reason while on NYTimes.com you are served the message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, please do the following: Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your Group Pass. If you log out of your account or visit NYTimes.com on a device where you are not logged in, you can simply log in to your account to continue enjoying access.

If your Group Pass has expired: Visit http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT to activate a new pass. Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your IUB Group Pass.

Unaffilated users may access up to 10 free articles (including blog posts, slide shows and other multimedia features) each month on NYTimes.com. This free, limited access resets at the beginning of each calendar month.

Content Availability:
1851-1922: unlimited article availability
1923-1980: up to five articles per day per user
1981-present: unlimited article availability

Additional access options for the New York Times:
Access to the New York Times from 2008 to the present (with a lag time of about three months)

Digitized microfilm of the NYT with a 3-month embargo. Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

BUS W520 Turnaround Management

Get Help

Business/SPEA Library

Research & Instruction Librarian

Industry Information and Trends

Consumer Demographics, Attitudes and Behaviors

The Business of Theater

News & Popular Press

Featured Databases

IU Libraries