Archives and Primary Sources for South Asian Studies
This guide describes how to conduct archival work, and how to find archival resources for South Asian Studies. It includes lists of relevant archives, both in South Asia and elsewhere, and provides access to digital archival sources where available.
Granth Sanjeevani has over 20,000 books, newspapers, manuscripts, maps, journals, government publications and reports. Though the majority of books are in English, there are books in Sanskrit and other ancient and modern Indian languages and in European languages like Greek, Latin, Italian, German and French.
Farmers Movement Archive is a collection of different kinds of data related to the on-going Indian Farmers Protests 2020-2021 against three farm laws which were passed by the Parliament of India in September 2020.
Indian Memory Project is a visual and narrative based online archive that traces the histories and identities of the Indian Subcontinent, via photographs (and sometimes letters) found in personal archives. Contextualised with narratives, the photographs are contributed to the archive from all over the world. The micro-stories reveal a macro narrative, and thus a powerful and historical palimpsest of a largely undocumented society and subcontinent.
PARI is both a living journal and an archive. It will generate and host reporting on the countryside that is current and contemporary, while also creating a database of already published stories, reports, videos and audios from as many sources as we can. All of PARI’s own content comes under the Creative Commons and the site is free to access. And anyone can contribute to PARI.
The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) is a not-for-profit organization based in Philadelphia, PA.
Mission: SAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences