South and Southeast Asian Studies Librarian
Welcome
The links below lead to information about how to find, evaluate, and learn more about the content of archives. They also describe how to arrange to work in an archive, and how to conduct that work.
Other tabs along the left: For links under "Online IU Libraries Databases" and "Newspapers", you must use an IU login. All other tabs and links are openly available on the internet.
Finding and Evaluating Archives
The following links include useful tools for finding archives based on geographic location, content, collection type, and more information that can help researchers assess where to find the data they need for their project.
- ArchiveGrid
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to online findings aids, detailed collection guides or inventories describing where to find an archival collection, how it's arranged, and what it contains.
- Society of American Archivists: Finding and Evaluating ArchivesLists a variety of links to help researchers find and navigate archives.
- Fresh from the ArchivesReviews of archives around the world shared by research scholars, including descriptions of collections, how to access, and more.
- Archives Hub (UK)Helps users find archival collections across the UK; lots of content around colonial South Asia.
Conducting Archival Research
The following links contain foundational background information and key tools and concepts that will be useful for those starting archival research.
- Using Archives (Society of American Archivists)Information on finding archives, planning your visit or requesting resources, general guidelines for visiting an archive, information on copyright or other restrictions, and additional resources.
- Guide to Archival Research (American Historical Association)Useful tips and reminders for planning a visit to an archive.
- A Survival Guide to Archival Research (American Historical Association)A short description of recommended practices and materials for conducting archival research; gives an idea of some of the potential challenges a researcher might encounter.
- How do archivists describe collections?Helps understand what finding aids are and how to use them to navigate a collection of archival materials.