Library Research Guides: MSCH R431: Public Relations for Nonprofits: Home

Get Help

Business/SPEA Library

1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library

Topic Identification and Exploration

Use these databases to browse for controversial policy issues and topics, and to explore the various facets and viewpoints of those topics.

GuideStar Pro
- This link opens in a new window
Under the auspices of Candid, this resource provides information and data on nonprofit organizations.
Allows users to search and filter organizations by granular income, expense, assets, and number of employees, as well as analyze an organization's year-over-year profit, revenue, expenses. Users can also verify organizations’ current IRS status with GuideStar Charity Check, and see nonprofit contractors. In-depth nonprofit information is available for download, users are limited to 1,000 downloads per month.
CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text discussion of current, controversial public policy issues; coverage of newsworthy global affairs and issues from a variety of international viewpoints.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
- This link opens in a new window
Social issues series for coverage of current events topics. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, and primary documents.
TOPICsearch
- This link opens in a new window
Current events database focusing on contemporary issues

News and Scholarly Sources

Try this search string:

(charit* OR not-for-profit OR non-profit OR nonprofit OR “third sector” OR philanthrop*) and (scandal* OR misconduct OR transgress* OR violat* OR crime OR wrongdoing OR impropriety OR corrupt* OR mistrust OR distrust OR fraud)

GENERALIST DATABASES

Wiley Online Library
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3 million journal articles, online books, major reference works, and leading industry databases.
Sage Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Access to e-journals on the Sage platform in a variety of subject areas. Select "Only Content I Have Full Access To" when searching to view full text content available to IUB users.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage.

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.
Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

BUSINESS/MANAGEMENT DATABASES

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
- This link opens in a new window
Tool for business students and researchers, providing insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. Contains full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, case studies and company profiles.
Also includes videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV, a social network site for high-tech entrepreneurs.
Vocational Studies Premier
Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, this resource provides comprehensive full-text coverage of the most relevant associates program-level content. It covers such varied topics as accounting, alcohol and drug abuse counseling, computer and data processing, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel and tourism, and dozens more.

NEWS DATABASES

Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes newspapers, newswires and news magazines, as well as television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Newspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) including the Bloomington Herald Times, and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for articles in the following major newspapers beginning in January 1, 1995:
Major U.S. Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
This page contains links to electronic versions of major United States newspapers, including New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.

Journals Focused on Nonprofits

Consumer Research

Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries. See this video for an overview of this database.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries

Citation and Style Guides

Citation involves properly crediting the authors of information sources used in a paper or presentation. You will need to cite if sources are directly quoted and/or paraphrased or if reading a source contributed to the ideas presented.

Always cite your sources.

Different disciplines use certain citation styles. Use these Quick Style Guides, the full citation manuals, or ask library staff for citation assistance.

Quick Style Guides

Full Style Manuals

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
ISBN: 9781433805592
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Core Collection--Z253 .U69 2010
ISBN: 9780226104201
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Core Collection LB2369 .G53 2009
ISBN: 9781603290241
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Other Citation Resources:

MSCH R431: Public Relations for Nonprofits

Get Help

Business/SPEA Library

Topic Identification and Exploration

News and Scholarly Sources

Consumer Research

Citation and Style Guides

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

MSCH R431: Public Relations for Nonprofits

Get Help

Business/SPEA Library

Topic Identification and Exploration

News and Scholarly Sources

Consumer Research

Citation and Style Guides

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries