About
What is Public Discourse?
Public Discourse is the communication that shapes (or challenges) our shared beliefs and norms as a society.
Public Discourse Sources
When choosing where to locate sources, consider the type of information you need. Some research tools are more likely to include relevant sources than others.
This page emphasizes sources for public discourse. This resource list is NOT comprehensive. Internet research can help you locate additional resources.
Below you can find detailed information on Gale in Context's Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher, two key resources for this course. It also includes a list of general resources, national and international news, local news, and polls.
Opposing Viewpoints
- Opposing Viewpoints
Social issues series for current coverage of hot topics; access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents
Opposing Viewpoints is a resource by Gale in Context. It provides information on social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. There are also featured news and featured videos. The items in Opposing Viewpoints are fully searchable, or you can browse by individual topics for lists of items concerning the issue, pro and con.
Image taken from https://go-gale-com.proxyiub.uits.iu.edu/ps/start.do?p=OVIC&u=iuclassb
CQ Researcher
- CQ Researcher
Full text discussions of current, controversial public policy issues in a variety of areas.
CQ Researcher is an online periodical covering current events. Its articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Image taken from https://library-cqpress-com.proxyiub.uits.iu.edu/cqresearcher/
General Sources
- Associated Press Images Collection (EBSCO)
This link opens in a new window
An electronic library containing the AP's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. International in scope with images dating back as early as 1826.
- OneSearch@IU
- This link opens in a new window
Brings together much of IU Libraries' content, allowing users to simultaneously search IUCAT, scholarly article databases, news and popular publications to retrieve a wide range of materials across subject areas. - IUCAT This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Indiana University online catalog. - Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
National & International News
- World News Digest
- This link opens in a new window
Provides summaries of domestic and international news. - Ethnic NewsWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America; full text and searchable in English and Spanish - Alternative Press Index Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index Archive offers both international and interdisciplinary coverage of a variety of alternative sources, indexing information on topics of cultural, economic, political and social change.
- World Newspaper Archive
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. - Television News Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive archive of major network television news.
Local News
- Indiana Daily Student
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Indiana Daily Student newspaper (1997-present).
- Herald-Times
- This link opens in a new window
Local newspaper for Bloomington, Indiana, and surrounding communities. Users may access the E-Edition of the HTO here.
- NewspaperARCHIVE
- This link opens in a new window
Digital access to more than 1000 historical newspapers from communities within Indiana.
Polls
- The Gallup Organization
- This link opens in a new window
Links to news and public opinion polls, 1935-present.
- Polling the Nations
- This link opens in a new window
Public opinion surveys conducted by polling organizations in the United States and other countries. Aggregated from more than 1,000 sources, these polls cover breaking-news events, and various topics, including affirmative action, criminal justice reform, drugs, foreign policy, immigration, race relations, the United Nations, and voting rights.