What are artists' books?
According to Printed Matter, Inc:
Unlike an art book, catalog or monograph that tend to showcase artworks created in another medium, the term ‘artists’ books’ refers to publications that have been conceived as artworks in their own right. These ‘projects for the page’ are generally inexpensive, often produced in large or open editions, and are democratically available
To read more about artists' books, visit Printed Matter, Inc.
How do you look up artists' books on IUCAT?
Step One
Once you have navigated to IUCAT, select the advanced search tab to begin searching for artists' books.
Step Two
Enter the words "artists" "books" and "specimens" (all plural) into the search box. If you are searching for a particular type of artists' books, such as ones done in fabric, select "AND" and enter your keywords (i.e. fabric, textiles).
Step Three
Select the maroon box labeled "Advanced Search" to get your results.
Step Four
If you would like to further refine your search to be IU-Bloomington specific, navigate to the left side of the results page. Scroll until you see the word "Library." Select the tab, and then select "Bloomington - Auxiliary Library Facility."
Latine/Latin American Artists' Books from the Collection
- Chilean zine collection byPublication Date: 2015-2020Collection compiled by the Libros Latinos of over 600 zines with some engravings, comics, and cartonera books. The collection includes untitled books and visual materials: woodblock prints, posters, comics, and a flag book.
- Ink & Blood: 1968-2009 byCall Number: N7433.4.C789 I5 2009Publication Date: 2009"Ink & Blood" is a collection of forty-one silkscreened posters that the artist made in an edition of fifty in 2009, for the Second Trienal Poli/Gráfica of San Juan, Puerto Rico. The book is based on Cruzvillegas' personal collection of political posters from Latin America. The original posters date from 1968 onwards, the year of the artist’s birth.
- Las memorias vacías de Solange Bañuelos byCall Number: https://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/14554233Publication Date: 2014A striking feminist artist's book from Cuba comprised of a collection of seventeen connected stories or vignettes in which the narrator describes the daily disrespect, discrimination, and violence she faces as a woman.