Library Research Guides: Jewish Studies Primary Source Collections: Working in Hebrew and Yiddish

Fonts

Research into Jewish prinary sources often means, research within documents written in Hebrew or Yiddish. The following resources should help with translation, identification of different fonts, and other issues encountered when working in Hebrew or Yiddish.

Yiddish Book Center; Learn the Yiddish Alphabet
"The Yiddish Book Center is a nonprofit organization working to recover, celebrate, and regenerate Yiddish and modern Jewish literature and culture." This resource will help with identifying characters and learning Yiddish.
Society of Biblical Literature: Biblical Fonts
"The Society of Biblical Literature has collaborated with many organizations and individuals to develop fonts for biblical scholars. The SBL is currently developing a new series of high-quality fonts for digital and print use. This series includes SBL BibLit, which combines Greek, Hebrew, and Latin characters, including transliteration diacritics, SBL Greek, a Greek-specific font, and SBL Hebrew, a Hebrew-specific font."
Morfix
This is a Hebrew English Dictionary
The Open Siddur Project: Hebrew Fonts
"The Open Siddur Project is a volunteer-driven, non-profit, non-denominational, non-prescriptive, gratis & libré Open Access archive of contemplative praxes, liturgical readings, and Jewish prayer literature (historic and contemporary, familiar and obscure) composed in every era, region, and language Jews have ever prayed." The Siddur Project provides clarifications on Hebrew font which may be useful when researching.
Yiddish Dictionary Online
This dictionary allows for easy searching of Yiddish words to and from English, and also allows for searching in Hebrew Letters.

Reading academic Hebrew an advanced learner's handbook by Krohn, Nitza
ISBN: 9789004196186

Publication Date: 2011

"Through straightforward exposition of rules, numerous examples from scholarly texts, and models demonstrating how to use linguistic information in the text as clues to meaning, the book articulates the grammatical and semantic knowledge that native Hebrew readers bring to the task of reading complex academic prose. It is aimed at students and researchers in the field of Jewish Studies who wish to access seminal and recent Hebrew language scholarship in their area of expertise, as well as those preparing for a Hebrew to English translation exam. The book includes exercises with solutions and practice texts for comprehension and translation, and can be used as a course textbook, a self-study manual and/or a reference source for Hebrew teachers."

Jewish Studies Primary Source Collections

Fonts

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

Jewish Studies Primary Source Collections

Fonts

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries