Searching advice
- Don't be afraid to change up your search terms. Skim your search results and use the terminology and themes that you are finding to improve your next search. Didn't find what you expected or wanted? Just try a different combination of search terms or a different database.
- Make use of the filters and features that are built in to each of the search tools. Look for filters like subject and publication date, as well as features that recommend related articles.
- Get the most out of one really great source. Search for the sources that are cited in that article, and use Google Scholar to locate other works which have cited that article.
- Search in at least two databases to find a broader range of sources. Many databases include unique journals, and, even when there is overlap, the search algorithms may surface different results in a different order.
Databases and Search Tools
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is particularly useful for locating related articles by using the Cited by tool. Copy and paste the title of a great article, then click on Cited by underneath that article to find the articles that have cited it thus far. Can't access the full-text? Copy and paste the article title into OneSearch@IU or WorldCat to locate it.
- Historical AbstractsLimited to publications focused on history, Historical Abstracts contains and links out to full-text articles on a broad range of historical topics.
- JSTOROne of the most prominent databases for research in the humanities, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals, book chapters, and more.
- OneSearch@IULimit your results to Peer Reviewed to locate scholarly articles from a broad range of disciplines. Open up All Filters to filter results by Subject.
- Project MuseThis database provides full-text access to both scholarly journals and ebooks. Use the robust set of filters on the left to narrow your search results.
- ProQuest One AcademicLimit your results to Scholarly Journals to access a wide variety of titles. Use the Document Type filter on the left to limit your results to features and articles.
- WorldCatWhile not always the first choice of search tools, WorldCat does also index and provide access to either read or request the full-text of a wide range of scholarly articles. Use the filters on the left of your search results, and be sure to change up your search terms.
