Library Research Guides: HIST A394 Wenches, Witches, Welfare Queens: Start Here

About this guide

In a rush? Use the tabs below to quickly access recommended search tools and resources.

Ready to dive deeper? Use the tabs on the left to explore and learn more about a wide variety of search tools and strategies to locate books and ebooks, background information, primary sources, and secondary sources.

If you have a question, use the buttons below my picture to get in touch or ask the library.

Quick start resources

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IUCAT, the online catalog for all titles available through IU Libraries, is the often the best place to start a search for books and ebooks, and also includes government documents, videos, and sound recordings.
- Use broad search terms to give IUCAT the best chance of finding relevant titles.
- Use the red Request This button to have print materials delivered to the most convenient library for pick-up.
- Use the filters like Subject and Publication Year on the left side of the page to narrow your search results.
- When you find one title that looks promising, use the hyperlinked Subject headings to locate additional titles.
- Watch this brief video tutorial on searching and accessing books and ebooks in IUCAT.
IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.

JSTOR
One of the most prominent databases for research in the humanities, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals, book chapters, and more.
JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR. Includes access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Hebrew Journals, Ireland Collection, Lives of Literature, Public Health Collection, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage.

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.
OneSearch@IU
Limit your results to Peer Reviewed to locate scholarly articles from a broad range of disciplines. Open up All Filters to filter results by Subject.
Project Muse
This database provides full-text access to both scholarly journals and ebooks. Use the robust set of filters on the left to narrow your search results.
ProQuest One Academic
Limit your results to Scholarly Journals to access a wide variety of titles. Use the Document Type filter on the left to limit your results to features and articles.

IU Libraries: Start Your Search
When you want to locate a source that you find in a citation or mentioned in another source, use the Start Your Search box on the IU Libraries website to get started. This tool will search IUCAT, OneSearch, and more to try to locate the title. If it can't find the citation, it will provide options to search for the source in WorldCat and Google Scholar. If you still can't find access to what you need, send me an email with the citation information.

Examples of relevant works available in IUCAT