Subject Librarian
Questions?
Ask a Librarian!
In Person: Wells Library, Scholars' Commons Reference Desk (East Tower)
Email: libref@iu.edu
Chat: libraries.indiana.edu/help
Sage Research Methods
The Sage Research Methods series offers detailed explanations of research and statistical methods common in the social sciences. Additionally, Sage Campus provides tutorials on a variety of data analysis and visualization techniques.
-
Sage Research Methods: Foundations
Introductions to research concepts and methods used in the social sciences. Each entry begins with the basics, and moves into specialist literature. Also includes biographical entries on pioneers of social science methods, covering the history of research methods, techniques, and underlying epistemological and philosophical issues. Includes access to content through 2023.
-
Sage Research Methods
Tool intended to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
-
Sage Research Methods: Doing Research Online
Research tool aimed at supporting social science researchers. Covers a variety of digital methods, such as: online surveys, interviews, digital ethnography, social media, and text analysis. Also includes multimedia content, videos, case studies, practice datasets, as well as practical how-to-guides on the main research steps. Privacy and other ethical considerations specific to conducting research online are also covered.
-
Sage Campus
Please note: users must register for an account with their official iu.edu email in order to access. Online courses supporting the teaching and learning of skills and research methods. Includes video, interactives, and formative assessments. Topics covered include critical skills and research methods for across all stages of academic study; navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published. Includes access to 40 courses.
Books on Research in Economics
-
Creative Research in Economics
by
Researchers are expected to produce original findings, yet nobody explains how original contributions are conceived in economics. Recently there have been calls for more creativity in economic research, yet there is no literature that explores creative research apart from collections of biographical essays. This book aims to address that gap, exploring the process of conceiving and generating ideas for interesting and original research contributions in economics (and potentially other social sciences too). Creative Research in Economics serves both a practical and theoretical purpose. Theoretically it presents a unique way of thinking about the nature of problems and questions in economics and the role of social science researchers in society. As such it offers an interesting way to think about the philosophy of science and methodology in economics, and how new ideas emerge in the discipline. Practically it develops techniques for finding interesting and original research contributions (as opposed to conventional data-gathering research). Whether you are a graduate student looking for that first interesting question, a novice researcher in search of fresh avenues for research after your PhD, or a seasoned academic looking to teach the philosophy and methodology of economics in more interesting ways, you will find this book of great use.
ISBN: 9781138325197Publication Date: 2018-06-01
