Economics

One Mail instructions: 

If you use an indiana.edu email address to access your Bloomberg account, you must update the account to use your iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. To update your email (or make any other changes to your Bloomberg account), please call the Bloomberg help desk at 1-212-318-2000.

Archive of data for individual countries. In establishing the archive, it was decided to assemble materials dating, insofar as possible, from 1815 (immediately after the Congress of Vienna and formation of the modern international system). It was also decided that all commonly recognized members of the international community would be represented, excluding a handful of quasi-states such as Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, and Vatican City. In 1977, data for the latter were also introduced, with coverage extending from 1975.

The archive has almost 200 variables and contains data for over 200 country units, with provision for entries from 1815 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945). The basic structure of the archive is that of a rectangular matrix of periodically augmented records, each encompassing data for one country-year. The data is contained in the file and may be categorized in a variety of ways. First, all of the variables currently included in the file are longitudinal, rather than cross-sectional, in character.

ICPSR holdings include several time series and other types of aggregate data. ICPSR datasets were originally collected for specific research or administrative purposes. However, the data have research potential that outlives the original purposes for which they were collected. ICPSR preserves these valuable data resources and makes them publicly available for secondary analysis. ICPSR Direct is a new service providing direct access to the ICPSR data holdings for all students, faculty, and staff at ICPSR member institutions.

Individual Account Login Instructions

1. Go to ICSPR and click the Log In button
2. Select Access through your institution
3. In the Finder your institution search box, enter “Indiana University”
4. Click the Log in with your institution button and log in with your IU network credentials.

Allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and sources, and derive new statistics.  Users can visualize data in multiple formats: table, chart, map, or graphs, and profile specific industries, geographies, topics, or points in time. Includes statistical literacy with detailed source descriptions and a library of reference material addressing the basics of all things data.

One Mail instructions:

If you created a personal account for Sage Data using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email account before December 31, 2025.

1. Go to Sage Data
2. Click on "My profile" and "Sign in," and then log in to your profile
3. Once you have logged in, click on "My profile" (where you should see your name displayed) and then click on “View My Profile.”
4. In the "Email Address" field enter your new email address and then click "Save" to save your changes.

Provides access to data from numerous institutes and sources. The portal offers four languages: English, German, French, and Spanish. The German platform focuses on content about DACH-countries; the international platform incorporates international data. The French and Spanish platforms provide country specific data in their respective languages.

AI Research Tool

The Libraries' subscription includes access to the Research AI tool.