Discovery Tools for Topics & Subjects in Youth Literature

Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, American History, 1493-1945 provides access to documents on American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century.

Provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search Gale digital archives.

Access to the Library of Congress catalogs of over 171 million books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources.

Archival collections documenting topics in eighteenth- through twentieth-century American history. Provides access to digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

Digital archive of American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, representing every state in the U.S.

This resource offers more than 100,000 early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials. Featuring extensive indexing and full bibliographic information, they together illuminate more than 250 years of American history, literature, culture and daily life.

This collection consists of two elements: A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives, and original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories.

A digital archive of American historical newspapers from the 19th century, including over 1.5 million full-text pages, many complete with images.

Provides access to primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Includes monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

American History in Video provides a collection of documentaries, newsreels and archival and public affairs footage.

Digital research encyclopedia covering American history. Along with essays, it incorporates visual and sound materials and links to original sources. Includes  peer-reviewed articles and broad coverage of the field. Some topics feature debates by two or three historians about the most useful ways to understand subjects.

Covers interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection.