Central Eurasian Studies

Index Islamicus is the primary index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. It includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

Public domain and out of copyright books are readily available through Google Books, in downloadable, PDF format. Items still under copyright may not be entirely viewed, nor may they be printed or copied. Books may be in full view, limited preview, spippet view, or no preview available.

Bibliographic information can be searched separately for every journal indexed in PIO. In addition, researchers can access a list of issues for each journal and a table of contents for each issue.

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.

Includes journal articles, books, government documents, pamphlets and the reports of public and private bodies.  Also indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.

Print source: PAIS bulletin (1915-1990), PAIS Foreign Language Index (1968-1990), PAIS International in Print (1991-)

Includes the complete, fully searchable text of the traditional print version of The Chicago Manual of Style. Also includes access to the Chicago Style Q&A, which is another fully searchable resource of questions and answers, and the Tools, which provides examples of forms, letters, and style sheets.

The illustrated weeklies open a wide window on Russian cultural, social, and political life. Their editors traced the sweep of the Russian imagination at the apogee of Russian cultural power from the peak years of Dostoevsky and Tolstoy to the modernist era and the chaos of 1917. They captured imperial expansion, cultural innovation, high fashion, graphic arts, performing arts, grand funerals and anniversaries, occasions of state, wonders of science, and domestic and foreign politics. In addition, the weeklies inscribed the changing image of Russia’s great cities, its landscapes, and its multinational citizenry, together with literary life and a visual and verbal chronicle of all and sundry occasions and events.

It contains references to scholarly research from journals and series, monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.

Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992. All entries are searchable by author, title, year of publication, place of publication, language of publication, journal title, country, subject, keyword, ISSN and ISBN. Includes the full content of the printed volumes of the annual Bibliography of Asian Studies dating back to 1971.

The scope of chronological coverage varies from title to title, spanning from 2 to 16 years (Izvestiia). It is not only a retrospective archival database but also a current news service, incorporating the current issues almost simultaneously as the print issues come out.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

One Mail instructions:

If you created your MyEBSCO account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025.

1. Sign in to your MyEBSCO account
2. From MyEBSCO dropdown menu, select Manage Your Account
   1. You may be asked to sign in again
3. Update your email address to use @iu.edu and press the Save button

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts builds on the merged backfile of Political Science Abstracts (1975-2000) and ABC POL SCI (1984-2000). This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.

Comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities combined with a unique database of over 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles. Pivot's proprietary algorithm compiles pre-populated researcher profiles unique to Indiana University and matches them to current funding opportunities in the expansive COS Pivot database. This allows users to search for a funding opportunity and instantly view matching faculty from inside or outside IU.

One Mail instructions:

While creating an account is not required to access Pivot, it is encouraged to be able to track and share opportunities. The Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) has enabled Single Sign On for this resource. However, if you created an account with your @indiana.edu email account without using Single Sign On, you may need to update your account to use your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025.

1. Log in your Pivot user account
2. Click on the drop-down arrow next to your name in the upper right corner of the screen and select My Profile
3. Click on the pencil icon (edit) next to the email address to add your iu.edu email address (if needed) and remove your @indiana.edu email address

Any questions or problems updating your email address should be directed to the Office of the Vice President for Research. 

The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

"Consists of pre-revolutionary Orientological publications is the little-known, classified Collection of Geographical, Topographical and Geographical Materials on Asia = Sbornik geograficheskikh, topograficheskikh i statisticheskikh materialov po Azii which was issued by the Russian General Staff between 1883 and 1914 in 87 thick volumes and 9 supplements. The Secret Prints are accounts of travels to lesser-known reaches of Asia, mostly by Russian army officers including among others authors such Nikolai Przhevalskii, Aleksei Kuropatkin, Nikolai Ermolov, Gustav Mannerheim, Lavr Kornilov, and Andrei Snesarev. The articles range from attaché and diplomatic dispatches to histories of tsarist plans for the invasion of India, the siege of Herat, and European campaigns against China. Together, they comprise a unique and largely untapped source for 19th century of Asia." -- OCLC WorldCat

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and remained the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR until its collapse in 1991. Covering the politics, society, and culture, it is an extremely important primary source for any research on the Soviet Union. The full text is searchable and you may browse images of the issues in the original format.

IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.

A collection of eleven Russian periodicals dealing with all aspects of Russia's Muslim world before the fall of the tsarist regime. Their places of publication include not only the two metropolises of Moscow and St. Petersburg, but also such provincial cities as Kazan', Simferopol', Baku, and Kokand. Also included is the Paris weekly "Musul΄manin = Moussoulmanine," which began to be published by the Russian Muslim diaspora of Paris, France, for the purpose of enlightening the mountain people of the Caucasus and educating Russian society about the local Muslim world of the Caucasus.

Premiere data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. These features plus data export options in standard formats like Excel make WDI Online the most useful tool yet for researching developmental data.
Print and CD-ROM versions of WDI are retained in GIMSS (Government Information, Microforms and Statistical Services), 2nd floor of the IUB Herman B Wells Library, which also subscribes to most World Bank publications.

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

This Russian periodical database provides full-text access to articles of 75 Russian journals in humanities and social sciences. All major disciplines are represented, but the scope of its chronological coverage is relatively narrower than its newspaper companion, UDB-Central newspapers. One resoundingly welcoming exception is Voprosy istorii (1945- ). Together with its two predecessors, Bor'ba klassov (1931-1936) and Istoricheskii zhurnal (1937-1945), the journal is completely covered by the database in its entirety.

Covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in the database America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. It currently indexes about 2,300 journals in 40 languages, with indexing also for some books and dissertations. Most of the article citations include abstracts of 75-100 words.

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports constitutes an archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news.

FBIS Daily Reports is comprised of the reports from Middle East and [North] Africa (MEA), 1974-1987; Near East and South Asia (NES), 1987-1996; South Asia (SAS), 1980-1987; Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), 1974-1980 and (AFR), 1987-1996; China (CHI), 1974-1996; Asia and the Pacific (APA), 1974-1987; East Asia (EAS), 1987-1996; Latin America (LAT and LAM), 1974-1996; Eastern Europe (EEU), 1974-1996; Soviet Union/Central Eurasia (SOV), 1974-1996; Western Europe (WEU), 1974-1996.

The IUB Libraries' Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (East Tower 2, or ET2), located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library at 10th and Jordan, received these reports as part of the Federal Depository Library Program on microfiche. Feel free to contact ET2 staff regarding reports not yet available on this full text database, for earlier and later reports, and about related federal documents (including Congressional and Department of State documents).

Consists of the complete run of documents in the series DO 133, DO 134 and FCO 37, as well as all documents covering the Indian subcontinent in the FO 371 series. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.

The files address these events from the standpoint of British officialdom. In addition to high politics, they deal with such issues as economic and industrial development, trade, migration, visits to South Asia by British politicians and by South Asian politicians to Britain and elsewhere, education, administrative reorganisation, conflict over language, aid, political parties, agriculture and irrigation, and television and the press. Together they form a resource of fundamental value to scholars and students of modern South Asia.

Afghanistan's history, internal political development, foreign relations, and very existence as an independent state have largely been determined by its geographic location at the crossroads of Central, West, and South Asia. In modern times, as well as in antiquity, vast armies of the world passed through Afghanistan, temporarily establishing local control and often dominating Iran and northern India. Islam has played a key role in the formation of Afghanistan as well. Although it was the scene of great empires and flourishing trade for over two millennia, Afghanistan did not become a truly independent nation until the twentieth century. In much of the twentieth century, Afghanistan remained neutral. It was not a participant in World War II, nor aligned with either power bloc in the Cold War. However, it was a beneficiary of the latter rivalry as both the Soviet Union and the U.S. vied for influence by building such infrastructure works as roads, airports, water and sewer systems, and hospitals. The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century.

Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels.  Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.  

One Mail information:

In August 2025, all optional Newsbank and Readex user accounts with @indiana.edu email addresses were updated to @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed.

Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. Since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this database/dictionary/encyclopedia/translation glossary is pan-Buddhist in character.

Since 1972, the Encyclopedia Judaica has been the leading source for information on the Jewish people, the Jewish faith and the state of Israel - how they have shaped and been influenced by our world.
The Encyclopedia Judaica is the authoritative reference resource for Jewish knowledge and life up to the present day. It is designed for both Jewish and non-Jewish readers and covers nine main subject categories: Contemporary Jewry, Education and modern scholarship, History, Jews in world culture, Judaism: practice, Judaism: thought, Language and literature, and Miscellaneous.

This collection offers a comprehensive survey of the original writings of the Hungarian reformers. It includes texts from the period of the first stirrings of reform in the 1540s through to works written for the established churches of the region during the 1650s. Useful for those studying the Lutheran Reformation, international Calvinism, the Catholic Reformation, and the emergence of Anti-Trinitarianism.

Includes critical reviews of domestic and foreign film, scholarly articles on cinematic theory and history as well as the Russian culture and arts scene. Iskusstvo kino was first published under title Proletarskoe kino (1931-1932), then Sovetskoe kino (1933-1935), and finally under the present name (since 1936). Publication of Iskusstvo kino was suspended in 1942-1944, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these challenging years.

The Library of Congress has made available interview transcripts from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST). These transcripts present a window into the lives of U.S. diplomats and the major diplomatic crisis and issues that the United States faced during the second half of the 20th century and the early part of the 21st. These interviews offer more than individual personal perspectives on the formulation and implementation of American foreign policy. They also represent a slice of American life and social history.

Published continuously until 2008, Krokodil was at one time the most popular magazine for humorous stories and satire, with a circulation reaching 6.5 million copies. Krokodil lampooned religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events, bureaucracy, and excessive centralized control. The caricatures found in Krokodil can be studied as a gauge of the 'correct party line' of the time. During the height of the Cold War, cartoons criticizing Uncle Sam, Pentagon, Western colonialism and German militarism were common in the pages of Krokodil.

Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothèque nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives.

Pravda was launched by Lenin; it survived, usually under different titles, the repeated suspensions by the tsarist government before it became the organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union. Many important Bolshevik leaders (including Stalin) worked with the newspaper. It voiced the views of the leadership of the Soviet Union. 

"Consists of pre-revolutionary Orientological publications is the little-known, classified Collection of Geographical, Topographical and Geographical Materials on Asia = Sbornik geograficheskikh, topograficheskikh i statisticheskikh materialov po Azii which was issued by the Russian General Staff between 1883 and 1914 in 87 thick volumes and 9 supplements. The Secret Prints are accounts of travels to lesser-known reaches of Asia, mostly by Russian army officers including among others authors such Nikolai Przhevalskii, Aleksei Kuropatkin, Nikolai Ermolov, Gustav Mannerheim, Lavr Kornilov, and Andrei Snesarev. The articles range from attaché and diplomatic dispatches to histories of tsarist plans for the invasion of India, the siege of Herat, and European campaigns against China. Together, they comprise a unique and largely untapped source for 19th century of Asia." -- OCLC WorldCat

Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC) Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914. -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. Series: The Eastern question; Variation: Eastern question (IDC Publishers) Abstract: The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC) Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

Part of the Slavic studies bundle. Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. Series: The Eastern question; Variation: Eastern question (IDC Publishers) Abstract: The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC)Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

Part of the Slavic studies bundle. Multiple languages; Texts predominantly in German, also in English, French, Italian, and Latin, and occasionally in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, and Turkish. Series: The Eastern question; Variation: Eastern question (IDC Publishers) Abstract: The origins, 1600-1800: 193 monographs on Russian-Ottoman relations. This was a dynamic period in Turkish, Russian, Middle Eastern, and Western European history, in which the foundations of the present-day spheres of influence were laid. The sources were published in Europe over a period of two centuries; they provide detailed insight, not only into the military hassles in the Ottoman-Russian relations, but also into the effects these hassles had on public opinion in Europe. Included are treaties, travel reports, decrees, etc. (OCLC)Contents of the set: 1. The origins, 1600-1800 -- 2. Shifts in the balance of power, 1800-1853 -- 3. The Crimean War, 1854-1856 -- 4. The end of the empires, 1857-1914.

Previously published under the titles Rabochii i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskaia kul’tura (1953-1991). In the Soviet period it published critical diatribes against dissident writers Pasternak, Solzhenitsyn, Aksyonov and others, infamous articles condemning modern art exhibitions, chastising avant-guard composers and abstract painters. In modern Russia its reviews and event listings often focus on the cultural life of Moscow and regions, it is known for its topical commentaries on popular culture and politics.

The Annals of Communism series contains 25 volumes of scholarly commentary, annotation, and interpretation of documents from state and party archives selected by teams of Western and Russian editors. These volumes span the history of Soviet and international communism. Highlights include: foreign policy with Germany before World War II; communications during the Great Purges; relations with Western intellectuals and leaders; and private notations on many Soviet leaders.

Letopisi – national bibliography indexes – are the most comprehensive bibliographic products of Soviet/Russian printed works published since 1907 by Knizhnaia Palata (Russian Book Chamber). As an official legal deposit institution of Russia, Knizhnaia Palata has been collecting and creating bibliographic records of books, newspapers, journals, book criticism and reviews, the arts, sheet music, dissertations and maps. Bibliographic records of the processed materials are then published in Letopisi – eight serial publications containing records organized by categories of material.

Founded in 1802 by the Russian historian and educator, Nikolai Karamzin, Vestnik Evropy became a major influence in the development of a European outlook in Russia. The database has been designed so researchers may work simultaneously with texts in Old (pre-revolutionary) Russian and normalized contemporary orthography with easy-to-use cross search functionality.

Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online 1: Pioneer Orientalists (MEMO 1) consists of the Arabic manuscripts of Joseph Justus Scaliger (d. 1609), Franciscus Raphelengius (d. 1597) and Jacobus Golius (d. 1667) from the Leiden University Library, one of Europe's top repositories of Oriental manuscripts. These three collections are Leiden's oldest core collections of Arabic manuscripts. The Golius collection is particularly famous for its manuscripts on Islamic science.

All these manuscripts were acquired by the scholar Levinus Warner during his stay in Istanbul from 1644 until his death in 1665. This selection from the Warner Legacy to the Leiden University Libraries includes one autograph (Codex Orientalis 432), 10 unique manuscripts (Cod. Or. 498; 517; 801; 870; 1088; 1090; 1096; 1110; 1143; 1155; and 1175), and 11 manuscripts with unique parts (Cod. Or. 309; 333; 662; 697; 730; 765; 835; 870; 898; 917; and 923). The collection also includes several of Warner's diaries with research notes in various languages.

In addition to 5 autographs, the highlights of the collection include: the earliest dated manuscript in the collection (Arab O. 013) a dated copy of a unique arrangement of a rare treatise written by al-Ṣāḥib Tāǧ al-Dīn (d. 707/1307) produced in the year of the author’s death; two rare Mamluk treatises on horsemanship (Arab F.2); and an anonymous compilation (Arab O. 027) about the lives of the outstanding men who lived in Medina in the 12th/18th century.