Schedule a Research Consultation
Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Data and Information Sources
- Reference Solutions
This link opens in a new window
Used Advanced Search to search for companies with women executives, many of whom are the business owner, as detailed in the company profiles. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Search women owned and narrow your search results to the United States on the left hand side. - Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel has insights into current consumers trends and the impact of COVID on many product and service segments. - IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld has current and forecast information on various industries, including the effects of COVID on demand drivers and supply chains and operations.
- National Women's Business CouncilCheck out their annual reports, data and other research reports by clicking the 'hamburger' menu in the upper right corner.
- US Census BureauThe Census Bureau's Annual Business Survey (ABS) provides data on minority-owned and women-owned businesses. Search Annual Business Survey.
For recent articles on what's happening with businesses owned by women, you can search Business-focused databases like Business Source Complete, EBSCO Management and Entrepreneurial Studies, and also news an popular press sources like Nexis Uni. Search the first three of these at the same time by going to any one, choosing “select databases” above the search bar and choosing the others. Try searches like:
"WOMEN-owned business enterprises"
women and entrepreneur*
or combine those phrase with other topics for more focused searches, For example:
"WOMEN-owned business enterprises" AND covid
women and entrepreneur* and (funding or investors)
Don't forget to use the date slider on the left to screen out older articles.
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles. - Entrepreneurial Studies Source
- This link opens in a new window
Tool for business students and researchers, providing insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. Contains full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, case studies and company profiles. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
General Library Resources
Use the "Research" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.
- IUCAT This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books on your topic owned by the IUB Libraries. Use the Finding Books guide for tips on how to search and use this resource. - OneSearch@IU
This link opens in a new window
Search across thousands of publications (many will not be retrieved in a Google search!) for background information. Use the Database Search Tips for how to effectively search this resource.
• Business/SPEA Citation Guide
Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats.