Biology

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) provides a comprehensive resource for the scientific community working with Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. TAIR consists of a searchable relational database, which includes many different data types. The data can be viewed using an interactive MapViewer, and analyzed with provided tools. Datasets can also be downloaded. In addition, pages on news, information on the Arabidopsis Genome Initiative (AGI), Arabidopsis lab protocols, and useful links are provided.

The Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic indexes journals covering medical topics including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. All full-text titles included in the Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition are also indexed in MEDLINE. Coverage dates back to 1985.

The BioCyc collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) provides a reference on the genomes and metabolic pathways of thousands of sequenced organisms. BioCyc PGDBs are generated by software that predict the metabolic pathways of completely sequenced organisms, predict which genes code for missing enzymes in metabolic pathways, and predict operons. BioCyc also integrates information from other bioinformatics databases, such as protein feature and Gene Ontology information from UniProt. The BioCyc website provides a suite of software tools for database searching and visualization, for omics data analysis, and for comparative genomics and comparative pathway questions.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols allows the user to search for peer-reviewed new and classic research techniques in bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, plant biology, and a variety of related topics. New protocols are added continuously, and users can be notified of updates by signing up for RSS feeds and alerts. The database offers lists of protocols by subject category as well as a list of newly added protocols and a list of product protocols. Searching the full text of protocols can be accomplished by using the search box found on every page. An advanced search screen is provided for more detailed searches. The advanced search feature will allow the user to search recipes and cautions in addition to protocols. The Cold Spring Harbor Protocols site also offers discussion forums.

Subject areas covered: agriculture & environmental sciences, biochemistry, cancer, cell biology, clinical medicine, diseases, disorders & treatments, genetics & epigenetics, immunology, metabolism & nutrition, microbiology, neuroscience, omics & systems biology, pharmaceutical sciences, and reproduction & development.

Allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from approximately 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Key features in the Journal Citation Reports allow you to:

Focus on desired subject categories, enabling you to review journal titles and key performance indicators in the category
Compare multiple journals based on a chosen indicator
Evaluate the performance of journals in which you or your organization has published research
Recognize trending journals in key research categories
Identify the ideal journal in which to publish your forthcoming research

JoVE began in response to a problem within the world of biomedical science: only 10-30% of published scientific articles can be successfully reproduced. By filming experiments and publishing them in video format JoVE makes visible techniques involved in research for anyone to see and replicate.

Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions

Provides access to the international journal literature of psychology and related fields, to dissertations, and to technical reports from approximately 50 countries. More than 2200 journals in 29 languages are indexed. This database includes material relevant to psychology from such related disciplines as education, medicine, business, sociology, linguistics, law, psychiatry and anthropology.

Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Access to the CAS content collection, patent documents and step-by-step synthetic procedures and methods. 

Account use:

Please note that credentials used for the classic SciFinder site will work on the SciFinder-n site.

Walk in users (non-commercial only) allowed at IU Bloomington Libraries reference desks. Contact the Sciences Library at libsci@iu.edu for any questions.

One Mail instructions:

On November 25, 2024, SciFinder support updated all active accounts using  @indiana.edu email addresses to use @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed for users who had active SciFinder accounts.

If you have not used your SciFinder account in over 18 months, it is possible it may have been inactivated. In that situation, please email help@cas.org for assistance with reactivating your account and ensuring that it is associated with your @iu.edu email address. Information to include your email:

• Your IU Bloomington affiliation (student/faculty/staff)
• Your existing SciFinder username (if known)
• Your @indiana.edu and @iu.edu email address
  • This will allow SciFinder support to identify your inactive account regardless of which email you used initially.

Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Comprised of 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Exporting data to Reference Managers such as Mendeley, RefWorks and EndNote, tracking citations with Citation Overview/Tracker, analyzing journal performance with Journal Analyzer and alternative journal impact metrics SNIP and SJR are some of its unique features.

Users can search by cited reference, author, topic, publication name, and more. Results can be analyzed by document type, institution name, source title, and subject area. 

Bibliographical references from more than 6,000 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books and reports, representing research in all major areas of zoology, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, zoogeography.