Library Research Guides: Z204 Women Musicians: Classical Music Research

Associate Director of Access and Learning, Music Library

Misti Shaw

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Cook Music Library

812-855-6716

Subjects: Music

Background Information: Encyclopedias and More

Oxford Music Online (Grove) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music gives you access to Grove Music Online. When you search a keyword, name, or topic in Oxford Music, look for and then click the results from Grove. Each article is written by an expert in the field. Gain an overview of your topic, learn about keywords associated with your topic, consult the bibliography to find even more information.

Find Books, Scores, Recordings

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search books, scores, and recordings held in the Music Library by searching IUCAT.
IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.
WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
For a more comprehensive search, use Worldcat to see if other libraries own items that IU does not have.

Searching for music items in an online catalog can be tricky. For help, please consult using IUCAT.

Find Scholarly Articles and Dissertations

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts and indexes. Covers nearly one and a half million publications from the early 19th century to the present on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music, and related subjects. Also includes full text of over 260 periodicals. New titles are added annually
Offers international coverage of the music scene, covering books, bibliographies, conference proceedings, catalogs, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften, films, iconographies, and videos.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage.

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 300 international music periodicals from over 20 countries.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, including millions of works from thousands of universities. Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.
New York Times with Index (1851-2010)
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of New York Times articles from 1851-2010, plus searching using the Times Index 1851-1993.

Z204 Women Musicians

Associate Director of Access and Learning, Music Library

Background Information: Encyclopedias and More

Find Books, Scores, Recordings

Find Scholarly Articles and Dissertations

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries