Get Help
Research & Instruction Librarian
Finding Local Companies
You can use Reference Solutions or Simply Analytics to get lists of companies by city or zipcode. Search by keyword, or by NAIC or SIC code for particular industries (see below).
-
Reference Solutions
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
-
SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
-
Mergent Intellect
Provides access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.
| SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) and NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes are numerical systems used by government agencies to classify and organize businesses based on their primary economic activity. Find the right SIC or NAICS code for your company's industry by searching naics.com. |
Franchise or Not?
Simply having multiple locations doesn't make a business a franchise. Read this article for more on the distinction between chains and franchises and how to research whether or not something is a franchise.
Company Research
-
MarketLine Advantage
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
-
Mergent Market Atlas
Detailed information company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. Also includes company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports. Please note that this is the replacement product for Mergent Online, which was retired June 30, 2025.
-
PrivCo
PLEASE NOTE: INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION WITH AN OFFICIAL IU.EDU EMAIL ACCOUNT IS REQUIRED TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE. PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
Industry/Market Resources
For industry and market reports and analyses, use these resources:
-
MarketLine AdvantageOriginal industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
-
Mergent IntellectTo access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code.
-
Passport GMID: Global Market Information DatabaseIn-depth reports on consumer, industrial, and service markets around the world.
-
Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors.
-
BCC Research
Access to market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. Provides the latest trends, opportunities, challenges, and innovations emerging within these landscapes.
Marketing Resources
For information on demographics, marketing strategy and market research, start with these resources:
-
Mintel ReportsReports that include consumer and market data and analysis and marketing strategies. To get started with this database, see this video.
-
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
-
MRI-Simmons InsightsData on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. The database can be used to create individualized reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions. See this video to learn how to create a quick demographic profile.
-
Statista
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
News and Literature Resources
To access news articles and trade publication for background information, trends and case studies, use these resources:
-
Business Source CompleteRegional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
-
EBSCO Management Collection
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
-
ABI/INFORM CollectionContains more than 2,890 publications, offering the latest business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment.
-
FactivaContains more than 25,000 sources including The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, and the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.
-
Nexis UniIncludes articles from international newspapers, magazines, transcripts, legal research and medical journals.
Citation and Style Guides
Citation involves properly crediting the authors of information sources used in a paper or presentation. You will need to cite if sources are directly quoted and/or paraphrased or if reading a source contributed to the ideas presented.
Always cite your sources.
Different disciplines use certain citation styles. Use these Quick Style Guides, the full citation manuals, or ask library staff for citation assistance.
Quick Style Guides
Full Style Manuals
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 9781433805592Publication Date: 2009-07-15 -
The Chicago Manual of Style
by
Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Core Collection--Z253 .U69 2010ISBN: 9780226104201Publication Date: 2010-08-01 -
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
by
Call Number: Wells Library - Undergraduate Services - Core Collection LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603290241Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Other Citation Resources: