M501 Proseminar in Music History

IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.

WorldCat is OCLC's Online Union Catalog. It is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 33 million bibliographic records from libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to do a comprehensive search of published material, to verify citations, or to identify other libraries that own an item.

Primarily classical music, but also some coverage of jazz and world music. Due to copyright restrictions, some titles are not available in the United States. 

To utilize the Naxos player on your smartphone:

1. Create a Student Playlist account.  This will act as your login credentials for the NML mobile apps.
2. Download the app from your respective store.
3. Complete the registration process by clicking the activation link in your email.

The Database of Recorded American Music contains compositions drawn from New World, Composers Recordings, and other labels. The recordings are CD quality audio and include liner notes and essays.

Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Includes music recorded around the African continent for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University and material collected on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.

The Metropolitan Opera is home to creative and talented singers, conductors, composers, musicians, stage directors, designers, visual artists, choreographers, and dancers from around the world.

Selections represent a wide range of performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.