History of Polish literature

This database is the online version of The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES), which started in 1956 at Indiana University, Bloomington, and continued until 1994, when it completely went online. Its chronological scope is limited, going back to 1989.

Provides access to all journals and articles, more than 4,370 open access e-books, and over 9,400 open access grey literature items (institutional reports, working papers, government documents, white papers, etc.). Currently, the archive’s content comes from over 1400 publishers. Indiana University Libraries’ subscription does not include full access to all e-books and grey literature, so some paywalls are expected.

Each entry begins with the list of an author's works, followed by fairly detailed biographical information concentrating on the author's career. Some entries are about 2,000 to 5,000 words; some can run more than 10 pages (up to 15,000 words). They all include illustrations, photographs of the authors, their families and places where they lived, manuscripts in facsimile, or dust jackets. The entry ends with listings of letters, bibliographies, biographies and references.

European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies (EBSEES) = Bibliographie européenne des travaux sur l'ex-URSS et l'Europe de l'est = Europäische Bibliographie zur Osteuropaforschung. Contains more than 85,000 bibliographic citations to scholarly articles, books, etc, relating to Eastern Europe. The cited materials were published in the following West European countries: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, and Switzerland.

It contains references to scholarly research from journals and series, monographs, chapters of books, working papers, dissertations, proceedings, Festschriften and bibliographies.