Company/Industry Hiring Practices & Trends
Company and industry reports accessed through library database can sometimes reveal specific hiring trends or practices that might dictate or influence salary requirements. These will also assist in comparing hiring trends between companies or industries and help to reveal if there is growth. Below is a selection of company and industry databases that can be used for these activities.
Company (directories, profiles, analyses):
- Mergent Intellect
This link opens in a new window
Provides access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.
- D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
Provides robust intelligence on over 16 million U.S. and Canadian firms as well as the top 100,000 international companies and 50,000 subsidiaries and branches of multinational companies located in developing countries.
Industry/Market (reports, products, analyses):
- IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
- MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources.
- Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
News & Literature (background, growth, trends, case studies):
Article and news sources can be searched for articles about a company or industry's hiring practices or may also publish interviews with human resources professionals or recruiters that could include these details.
Here are some possible keywords to use when conducting a search for company/industry hiring practices.
hiring
"hiring trends"
"personnel selection"
"hiring practices"
"employee selection"
"job offers"
"employee recruitment"
"employment practices"
"employee interviewing"
Combine these terms with the company or industry name using "AND." For example: (IBM or "International Business Machines") and "hiring practices."
- ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,890 publications, offering the latest business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment. - Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications. - EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
- Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 25,000 sources including The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, and the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also includes access to Nexis Dossier.
Benefits Information
While salary plays a primary role in compensation, benefits such as healthcare, vacation, flexible working schedules are also key. Company websites can yield benefit information (pay particular attention to press releases).
Company Lists:
Company lists can rank or reveal company-specific benefits information. Make sure to check how lists were compiled and requirements for inclusion.
Insider Information:
Databases like Vault or freely-available websites like Glassdoor provide employee insights and feedback regarding benefits and work culture. Make sure to check and see how information is gathered and if it is verified.
News & Articles:
Article and news sources can be searched for articles about a company benefits or may also publish interviews with human resources professionals or recruiters that could include these details.
Here are some possible keywords to use when conducting a search for benefits information.
benefits
"employee benefits"
"employee fringe benefits"
Narrower terms (ex. bonuses, "employee vacations," "employee stock options," "parental leave")
Combine these terms with the company or industry name using "AND." For example: (IBM or "International Business Machines") and "employee benefits."