Salary or Wage Data Resources
General:
U.S. Government Wage Surveys:
In-depth salary surveys and data collected and published by the U.S. government.
- Income (U.S. Census)A series of charts that provides compensation information by industry.
- National Compensation Survey- Modeled Wage Estimates (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)Database that offers estimates of average hourly wages according to geography and job characteristics.
International:
- ILOSTAT Database (International Labor Organization)The primary source for cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies.
- International Labor Comparisons (Bureau of Labor Statistics)ILC data are used to assess U.S. economic and labor market performance relative to that of other countries and to evaluate the competitive position of the United States in increasingly global markets. Discontinued as of 2014.
- Wages (International Labour Organization)ILO is a specialized agency of the United Nations whose main aims are to main aims are to promote rights at work, encourage decent employment opportunities, enhance social protection and strengthen dialogue on work-related issues.
Executive Compensation:
- MarketLine Advantage
This link opens in a new window
Library database that includes executive compensation data on the summary page. - Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Library database that includes executive compensation data under the "Executive" tab.
- EDGAR (SEC)The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's EDGAR database provides free public access to company filings.
- Foundation Directory Online
- This link opens in a new window
Under the auspices of Candid, this resource provides comprehensive information on grantmakers and their funding activities.
Professional or Industry Associations:
Many professional or trade associations conduct salary surveys of members. Often the current year is fee-based but previous years can be found either freely online or using library databases. Use the resources below to identify pertinent professional/trade associations or to locate the full-text of any salary surveys conducted.
- Gale Directory Library
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of premier directories providing information on companies, publishers, associations. Includes descriptions of associations, professional societies, and nonprofit organizations, at local, state, national and international levels.
- Find Professional Associations (CareerOneStop)Assists in identifying professional associations that might have conducted salary surveys.
Primary Research:
Research you conduct yourself (primary research) either through informational interviews or informal conversations can be a good source of focused compensation information.