Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH B301 Laboratory Methods in Bioanthropology

Created Spring 2015. Updated fall 2016.

Sage Advice

After browsing in journals for a while, you are ready to do a targeted search for scientific articles on your topic. This page takes you to the options we recommend, namely:

1. Subject-specific databases in bioanthropology

2. The Web of Science

3. Google Scholar (with a tip on how to make it work for you)

Bioanthropology Indexes

  • Anthropology Plus. The primary index for research in all subfields of anthropology, it includes articles, reports, edited works, and obituaries in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, as well as in ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
  • Biosis Previews. Part of Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews covers journal articles, conference papers, and other document types in the fields of biology, biochemistry, biophysics, botany, clinical and experimental medicine, microbiology, and zoology.
  • MedLine. The Web of Science interface to Medline, the primary source of world-wide literature on biomedicine and health care. 
  • PubMed. More than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. 
  • Zoological Record. Another part of the Web of Science, with comprehensive coverage of the zoological literature from around 1864 to present. The sources are journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books and reports. 

The Web of Science Is the Place to Be

The Web of Science is a citation database covering the scholarly journal literature in all subjects. It also includes specialized databases for medicine, biology, and zoology. Search everything at once, or just a selected database. 

  • TOPIC SEARCH finds articles on any topic based on words in titles, abstracts, and subject terms
  • IULINK will help you find the full text, either online or in print in the IU Libraries
  • Records will show the CITED REFERENCES used in the article and also newer articles that have cited it (TIMES CITED)
  • FILTER results by broad subject (e.g. Anthropology)
  • SORT by date (default), times, cited, author

Quick Reference Guide to Web of Science [PDF]


Web of Science topic search screen shot

 

 

Web of Science vs Google Scholar

Web of Science Google Scholar
human curated machine assembled
data about articles is highly structured and manipulated by your human brain data about content is minimal
articles selected for inclusion based on published criteria cobbled together from what's on the Web that publishers have allowed GS to index
easy to narrow and filter results to a manageable set very few ways to work with results