Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Getting Started
The following directories and guides are good starting places to learn about resources and strategies for conducting research on tax topics. In-depth research can be done using the databases listed below or the resources (articles, websites, statistics, and citators) provided in the tabs on the left.
If you have questions about the resources or strategies in this guide or need further assistance, contact the Business/SPEA Library or use the "Need Help" widget on the left.
- TAXSites.comThis directory provides a comprehensive index of web-based tax and accounting resources designed to be a starting point for people who are searching for tax and accounting information, products, and services.
- Tax TopicsA gateway to tax resources available on the World Wide Web. Organized by subject area.
Tax Research Databases
The IUB Libraries subscribe to over 900 databases that can be used to support research and information gathering. Use the "Research" tab on our website to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page and Accounting concentration house a curated list of business and accounting databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all Indiana University Bloomington subscriptions. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries' website or portals like this guide.
There are some resources, like Intelliconnect, that are only available for use on the Indiana University Bloomington campus. However, if you use the virtual private network (VPN), you can authenticate and act as part of this network even when off-campus.
For more information about establishing and using a VPN connection, see:
- VPN basics at IUArticle from the UITS Knowledge Base on using VPN at IU.
- Nexis Uni
This link opens in a new window
In the left column, click on US Legal -> Tax Law. Other choices include Federal Statutes, Codes & Regulations or State Statutes, Codes & Regulations. LexisNexis has an extensive tax library. It includes the Internal Revenue Code, regulations, cases, IRS rulings and pronouncements, and daily and weekly current awareness services, as well as journals and other secondary source materials. LexisNexis provides the text of Wiley and Matthew Bender Treatises
- VitalLaw
- This link opens in a new window
On campus access, wired machines or wireless using IUSecure. There is a limit of 20 simultaneous users. Access to federal and state tax libraries. Also the latest tax news, analysis, cases and other primary source materials. You can access this off campus by using a VPN: Learn how to use VPN here.
- Thomson Reuters Checkpoint
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of U.S. tax matters. The database includes a section of primary material and sources, with the complete federal tax code (back to 1990), regulations, committee reports, rulings (1954-current), and federal tax case histories (1860-current). The database also includes a Federal Tax Coordinator library arranged by topic, a U.S. Tax Reporter library arranged by code, a Federal Tax Handbook, a news/current awareness section, and a State & Local library with codes, cases, rulings, and legislation from all fifty states. You will need to create your own Thomson Reuters Checkpoint account.