Library Research Guides: BUS A551 Tax Research: Citators

Citators

Nexis Uni
You can use Shepard's Citations in Nexis Uni to update citations for tax materials. However, specialized tax citators do a better job of tracking all of the IRS administrative pronouncements and covering the specialized citation formats.
To retrieve a Shepard's® report in Nexis Uni by citation once you have the correct citation for the case, do one of the following:
1. Enter "shep:" in the search box, followed by your citation, then press ENTER or click the search button
2. Enter just the citation name in the search box, then click the Shepard's Signal™ indicator next to the document name
3. When you are in the full text of a case, you will see the Shepard's information in the far right column, with a link to Shepardize this document.
See this guide for details on citation formats:
Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in Nexis Uni are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, federal and state case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and state and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
To access Nexis Dossier select "Business" (near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage). Then select "Create a Company List" in the Company Dossier box.
AI Research Tool
Nexis Uni utilizes AI in their natural language search feature and the article summaries that display for many news results. Availability of the article summary feature for new results varies, and may change without advance notice.
One Mail information:
On August 13, 2025 Nexis Uni updated all personal accounts using @indiana.edu email addresses to use @iu.edu email addresses. Please use your iu.edu email address when logging in to your personal account for Nexis Uni. No further action is needed.

Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
From Cornell University Law School.

Both IntelliConnect and Checkpoint have citators:

VitalLaw
Click on Citator in the gray bar, top left.

Formerly called the CCH Internet Tax Research Network. Includes CCH Standard Federal Tax Reporter (back to 1986); CCH Federal Estate and Gift Tax Reporter; CCH Federal Excise Tax Reporter; CCG Tax Treaties Reporter; the Federal Tax Service; tax citator; state tax reporters for all 50 states and the District of Columbia, with archives (back to 1994); and various tax journals,including Taxes: The Tax Magazine, from 1998 to the present. There are several searchable libraries: Accounting/Auditing, Federal, State, Financial & estate, Special entities, Pension & payrolll, International, Perform plus II, and CCH client relate. Also included are Miller GAAP and FASB Original Pronouncements.
Thomson Reuters Checkpoint
Click on "Find Federal Cases" from the left column; see "Citator 2nd" on the left.

Tax content includes content from: RIA Federal Tax and State/Local Tax; WG&L Tax Journals and Tax Treatises; and Tax Advisor Planning Series. Accounting content includes COSO Internal Control Framework & Guidance.

BUS A551 Tax Research

Get Help

Citators

AI Research Tool

One Mail information:

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

BUS A551 Tax Research

Citators

AI Research Tool

One Mail information:

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries